Use the Library website to search across multiple databases:
Art & Architecture Source includes 1,115 active indexed and abstracted journals, more than 63,000 images provided by Picture Desk and other sources, more than 14,000 indexed art dissertations and more than 556,000 indexed art reproductions.
Full-text articles of art journals. Abstracts and index of art dissertations and art reproductions.
The database covers fine, decorative and commercial art, folk art, photography, film, and architecture.
Annotated references from design and craft journals published from 1973 onwards. Includes data on designers, craftspeople, studios and workshops.
Abstracts and index of articles covering health, social services, psychology, sociology, economics, politics, race relations and education.
Shared off-air recording and media archive service. Programmes can only be viewed in the UK.
You will need to register with the site before you can access the content.
Lexis+ provides access to a range of case law, legislation, commentary, and current awareness. This includes the full text of volumes 1-50 of Halsbury's Laws of England.
Access to journal articles and e-books for the academic, professional and business communities.
Please be aware that we do not have access to all volumes of every title in this collection. Full text coverage varies by title due to publisher restrictions.
Access the abstracts of journal articles from a range of different publishers. If the University of Lincoln subscribes to a listed journal, then many of that journal's articles will also be available in full text.
Abstract and citation database of peer-reviewed research literature from scientific, technical, medical and social sciences fields and, more recently, also in the arts and humanities.
The most comprehensive collection of dissertations and theses from around the world, spanning from 1743 to the present day and offering full text for graduate works added since 1997, along with selected full text for works written prior to 1997. It contains a significant amount of new international dissertations and theses both in citations and in full text.
If you wish to access full text theses, please make sure the "Full text" option is ticked under the search bar.
Access to the entire text of the Dictionary of Art with regular additions of new material and updates to the text, plus extensive image links.
SocINDEX with Full Text is a sociology research database. It contains full text for more than 860 journals dating back to 1908. This database also includes full text for more than 830 books and monographs, and full text for over 16,800 conference papers.
The American Psycholgical Association's database of abstracts of journal articles, book chapters, books and dissertations in psychology and related disciplines. Coverage is from the 19th century to the present.
1. Identify main concepts and keywords. Search the main concepts first, then limit further as necessary.
2. Find Synonyms (Boolean OR broadens the search to include alternative keywords or subject thesaurus terms):
3. AND (joins concepts and narrows the search) :
4. Be aware of differences in American and English spelling and terminology. Most databases use American spelling and terminology as preferred subject terms.
5. Use Truncation (putting * at the end of a word stem will search all forms of the word). * within a word can be used to search both American and English spelling:
6. "...." (inverted commas) use for a phrase
Many databases allow you to set up an account and save searches.
