A database is an organised collection of information. Academic databases are ideal when you need to conduct a more focused search than the library website or an online search engine provides. They contain abstracts, journal articles and conference papers on specific subjects. They are ideal for searching specialist resources in your subject area. You can use the library website for searching across multiple databases but for more targeted searching please see the list below of databases that can be useful for Technical Theatre.
Use the Library website to search across multiple databases:
Theatre and drama students often find the following particularly handy.
ArtsProfessional creates and curates the most relevant content for those with a professional interest in the arts sector.
Comprehensive and accessible essays covering literature and classics, philosophy, religion and culture, and music. Includes useful reference material, chronologies and reading lists.
High quality films of leading theatre productions and detailed analysis of play texts.
If you are experiencing any issues playing videos on Digital Theatre Plus using Chrome, please make sure you have the most recent version of the Chrome browser downloaded. Find more information about the browser update.
Drama Online has a growing collection of drama texts, audio plays and a video collection that provides an essential study tool.
Access journal articles, books, book articles and dissertation abstracts on all aspects of theatre and performance.
A not–for–profit organization dedicated to helping the scholarly community discover, use, and build upon a wide range of intellectual content in a trusted digital archive. The University of Lincoln has full-text access to the JSTOR Full Archive Collection and a selection of eBooks.
This link opens in a new windowDetailed bibliography of journal articles, books and dissertations. The indexed materials coverage is international and includes titles from J-STOR’s language and literature collection as well as links to full text.
Indexing and abstracts for more than 200 international periodicals, plus full text for around 160 of the indexed journals.
Coverage: 1864 - current
Project Muse provides full-text, high quality articles for the humanities and social sciences from over 120 publishers
The following databases are recommended if you are looking for online access to the text of a particular play or the works of a particular playwright.
Contains works of English and American poetry, drama and prose, plus biographies, bibliographies, criticism and reference resources.
Drama Online has a growing collection of drama texts, audio plays and a video collection that provides an essential study tool.
