Get an article from another library if the item you need is not available in full-text via the Library website.
You can use current awareness services to keep up-to-date with the latest research in your subject area.
An increasing number of publishers now offer RSS feeds as an alternative to email notification of new content added to their journals.
JournalTOCs has the largest free collection of scholarly journal Table of Contents (TOCs): 28,650 journals including 11,071 selected Open Access journals and 11,277 Hybrid journals from 2748 publishers.
Zetoc gives access to the table of contents of journals and conference records held by the British Library, from 1993 onwards.
Database searching tips
1. Identify main concepts and keywords. Search the main concepts first, then limit further as necessary.
2. Find Synonyms (Boolean OR broadens the search to include alternative keywords or subject thesaurus terms):
sustainability OR eco-friendly
3. AND (joins concepts and narrows the search) :
design AND sustainability
advertising AND (women OR girls)
4. Be aware of differences in American and English spelling and terminology. Most databases use American spelling and terminology as preferred subject terms.
5. Use Truncation (putting * at the end of a word stem will search all forms of the word). * within a word can be used to search both American and English spelling:
sustain* (sustainable, sustainability)
design* (design, designer, designed)
behav* (behaviour, behavior, behave, behaving
6. "...." (inverted commas) use for a phrase
Many databases allow you to set up an account and save searches.
Save searches and/or references to your own personalised folder(s) to revisit at a later date
Create email alerts and/or RSS feeds to keep up to date with the latest journal literature
Save references and organise your research in personalised folders
Bookmark or share your research with others
Use the Library website to search across multiple databases:
This resource was designed to address a diversity of interests, providing easy access to academic journals, magazines, trade publications and books. Amongst the subjects covered are: Architecture, antiques, art and art history, interior and landscape design and much more.
Full-text coverage is available dating back to 1937, with more than 370 periodicals, and over 220 books. Plus indexing and abstracts for 780 academic journals, magazines and trade publications, and elective coverage for over 60 additional publications. An image collection in excess of 63,000 images provided by Picture Desk and others is also available.
Access to interdisciplinary research in fashion and dress. Includes eBooks, reference works, a museum directory and exhibition archive, an extensive image gallery of fashion objects and access to the Berg Encyclopedia of World Dress and Fashion with over 2,000 images and more than 800 in-depth articles on the richness and complexity of global dress.
Bloomsbury Architecture Library is a leading digital resource for the study of architecture, urbanism, and interior design. Its dynamic digital platform offers access to wide-ranging collections of text and image content, from architectural history to cutting-edge design guidance.
In-depth coverage of the world's foremost academic and popular film journals. Includes “Treasures from Film Archives”; a detailed index of the silent-era film holdings of archives from around the world.
Major information resource for entertainment films and personalities produced in collaboration with the British Film Institute. International coverage from 1900 to present, indexing films from over 170 countries.
Access the abstracts of journal articles from a range of different publishers. If the University of Lincoln subscribes to a listed journal, then many of that journal's articles will also be available in full text.
A not–for–profit organization dedicated to helping the scholarly community discover, use, and build upon a wide range of intellectual content in a trusted digital archive. The University of Lincoln has full-text access to the JSTOR Full Archive Collection and a selection of eBooks.
Kanopy is a video streaming solution offering access to specific subscribed videos.
The videos which we currently subscribe to are available via the Kanopy homepage. It is possible to browse the entire Kanopy database and make suggestions to the Library about further potential purchases. Please note, these requests will only be considered if they would be beneficial to an entire module group.
Access to a video library of courses taught by recognized industry experts on a range of topics from using software and coding to marketing and design. Sign in to create playlists and watch clips or work through learning paths.
The most comprehensive collection of dissertations and theses from around the world, spanning from 1743 to the present day and offering full text for graduate works added since 1997, along with selected full text for works written prior to 1997. It contains a significant amount of new international dissertations and theses both in citations and in full text.
If you wish to access full text theses, please make sure the "Full text" option is ticked under the search bar.
Skills for Study is an interactive resource based on The Study Skills Handbook, and covers a range of academic skills including referencing, note-taking, critical thinking and exam skills. (See a full list of topics and modules covered).
Skills for Study is designed to help you develop your study skills at your own pace. Each module includes diagnostic tests, and exercises and activities to help you measure your progress, become more confident and get the most out of your course.
You will need to register with the site before you can access the content.
SocINDEX with Full Text is a sociology research database. It contains full text for more than 860 journals dating back to 1908. This database also includes full text for more than 830 books and monographs, and full text for over 16,800 conference papers.
Access to UK television and radio data, including programme listings for more than 300 TV and radio channels from 1995 onwards. The data is available at least 10 days before transmission. Selected records are enhanced with extra information, including production credits.
WGSN accurately forecasts consumer, lifestyle and product design trends, empowering clients to make confident decisions, adapt and stay ahead of an ever-changing consumer landscape and rapidly escalating climate priorities. With a unique blend of global expert insights, unique data & analytics tools and cross-industry knowledge, WGSN helps businesses get ahead of the right trends.
You will need to register with the site before you can access the content.
An archival research resource comprising the backfiles of leading women's interest consumer magazines, including Cosmopolitan (1886-2005), Essence (1970-2005), Seventeen (1944-2005) and others. These key primary sources permit the examination of the events, trends, and attitudes of this period. Among the research fields served by this material are gender studies, social history, economics/marketing, media, fashion, politics, and popular culture.
The not for profit foundation the International Advertising & Design DataBase was founded in the Netherlands in 2014 as an hommage to Dr Sachs and carries on where he, due to the circumstances of the times, had to stop.
This magazine is dedicated to the proposition that a great magazine, in its quest for truth, will dare to defy not only Convention, not only Big Business, not only the Church and the State, but also—if necessary—its readers.