Magazines and journals are kept on the 3rd floor of the Library in alphabetical order by title. Find particular titles using the 'book search' function on the Library Website. Also, enjoy the physical copies by handling the paper format and make the most of serendipitous discovery within the pages of magazines and journals.
(Reused for educational purposes under Creative Commons license) https://www.flickr.com/photos/29069717@N02/28241242564
Keep up to date with the latest: exhibitions, artists, designers, research, festivals, competitions, trends, events, conferences and projects in your academic field. Get inspired by artists and practitioners that you find when browsing the collection.
An academic journal is a regular publication which contains detailed research within a particular academic discipline Academic journals serve as forums for the introduction and presentation of new research and the critique of existing research. Use journal articles to discuss theories and current thinking in essays and dissertations.
Authors of books and journal articles also cite material they have used and these can be helpful to find for your own assignments. Many of the publications you find will contain relevant references and bibliographies. The disadvantage is that these titles always pre-date the publication in which they are mentioned. Another method of finding more material is citation searches.
Citation searches reverse this process: who has cited the publication you have found? In this way you will find recent literature. To find more academic material on the internet, you can use Google Scholar and see where the author/articles have been cited in further publications.
Some databases (e.g. Web of Science and Scopus) have this option.
Abstracts and index of articles covering health, social services, psychology, sociology, economics, politics, race relations and education.
Art & Architecture Source includes 1,115 active indexed and abstracted journals, more than 63,000 images provided by Picture Desk and other sources, more than 14,000 indexed art dissertations and more than 556,000 indexed art reproductions.
Arts Professional creates and curates the most relevant content for those with a professional interest in the arts sector. You will need to register with Arts Professional using your University of Lincoln email address to access content.
Access to interdisciplinary research in fashion and dress. Includes eBooks, reference works, a museum directory and exhibition archive, an extensive image gallery of fashion objects and access to the Berg Encyclopedia of World Dress and Fashion with over 2,000 images and more than 800 in-depth articles on the richness and complexity of global dress.
If you wish to save search results, you will need to create an individual account via “Sign up” to save content. Once you’ve created an account you will always need to sign in if you wish to access the content in your folders. Please note: It is not yet possible to save images from Berg Encyclopedia of World Dress and Fashion.
Shared off-air recording and media archive service. Programmes can only be viewed in the UK.
You will need to register with the site before you can access the content.
Artwork, files and related documents from the studio of cartoonist Carl Giles. Please note that registered HE/FE users can ask for high-resolution images to be used only for research purposes.
In-depth coverage of the world's foremost academic and popular film journals. Includes “Treasures from Film Archives”; a detailed index of the silent-era film holdings of archives from around the world.
Major information resource for entertainment films and personalities produced in collaboration with the British Film Institute. International coverage from 1900 to present, indexing films from over 170 countries.
Access the abstracts of journal articles from a range of different publishers. If the University of Lincoln subscribes to a listed journal, then many of that journal's articles will also be available in full text.
JSTOR provides access to more than 12 million journal articles, books, images, and primary sources in 75 disciplines.
Kanopy is a video streaming solution offering access to specific subscribed videos.
Lexis+ UK Newspapers provides full text access to UK national and regional newspapers. Date coverage varies by individual title from 1980s to today.
For international newspaper content visit Nexis.
Full text access to business information and major international newspapers including foreign language sources. Date coverage varies by individual title from 1980s to today.
Access to the entire text of the Grove Dictionary of Art and the Benezit Dictionary of Artists with regular additions of new material and updates to the text, plus extensive image links.
The most comprehensive collection of dissertations and theses from around the world, spanning from 1743 to the present day and offering full text for graduate works added since 1997, along with selected full text for works written prior to 1997. It contains a significant amount of new international dissertations and theses both in citations and in full text.
If you wish to access full text theses, please make sure the "Full text" option is ticked under the search bar.
Abstract and citation database of peer-reviewed research literature from scientific, technical, medical and social sciences fields and, more recently, also in the arts and humanities.
Skills for Study is an interactive resource based on The Study Skills Handbook, and covers a range of academic skills including referencing, note-taking, critical thinking and exam skills. (See a full list of topics and modules covered).
Skills for Study is designed to help you develop your study skills at your own pace. Each module includes diagnostic tests, and exercises and activities to help you measure your progress, become more confident and get the most out of your course.
You will need to register with the site before you can access the content.
SocINDEX with Full Text is a sociology research database. It contains full text for more than 860 journals dating back to 1908. This database also includes full text for more than 830 books and monographs, and full text for over 16,800 conference papers.
Access to UK television and radio data, including programme listings for more than 300 TV and radio channels from 1995 onwards. The data is available at least 10 days before transmission. Selected records are enhanced with extra information, including production credits.
Access to over 100,000 images that are freely available and copyright cleared for use in learning, teaching and research in the UK.
A complete searchable archive of American Vogue, from the first issue in 1892 to the current month, reproduced in high-resolution color page images.
WGSN accurately forecasts consumer, lifestyle and product design trends, empowering clients to make confident decisions, adapt and stay ahead of an ever-changing consumer landscape and rapidly escalating climate priorities.
With a unique blend of global expert insights, unique data & analytics tools and cross-industry knowledge, WGSN helps businesses get ahead of the right trends.
You may need to register with the site before you can access the content.
Abstract and index database of articles from academic journals covering the sciences, social sciences, arts and humanities.
An archival research resource comprising the backfiles of leading women's interest consumer magazines, including Cosmopolitan (1886-2005), Essence (1970-2005), Seventeen (1944-2005) and others. These key primary sources permit the examination of the events, trends, and attitudes of this period. Among the research fields served by this material are gender studies, social history, economics/marketing, media, fashion, politics, and popular culture.
1. Identify main concepts and keywords. Search the main concepts first, then limit further as necessary.
2. Find Synonyms (Boolean OR broadens the search to include alternative keywords or subject thesaurus terms):
3. AND (joins concepts and narrows the search) :
4. Be aware of differences in American and English spelling and terminology. Most databases use American spelling and terminology as preferred subject terms.
5. Use Truncation (putting * at the end of a word stem will search all forms of the word). * within a word can be used to search both American and English spelling:
6. "...." (inverted commas) use for a phrase
Many databases allow you to set up an account and save searches.
