Google Scholar tips
Go to the 'Settings' menu:
Google Scholar is a search engine for searching in a growing collection of academic publications that cannot be found using the ‘standard’ Google search engine. Some publishers have given Google Scholar access to the full text of their online journals.
Search engines such as Google only enable you to retrieve a very small part of all existing academic literature, because they do not have access to the databases that are used by libraries for library catalogues and bibliographies and to full-text publishers' databases.
 |
Downloading the Lean Library browser extension could save you time searching for the full-text. Lean Library integrates with the University of Lincoln's library systems to provide seamless access while off-campus. After installation, a pop-up notification will alert you if you're viewing content that the Library can grant access to, such as articles, ebooks, and various subscriptions. Find out more here. |
Wikipedia is a free online encyclopedia containing millions of articles. Anyone can write and edit the articles and there are thousands of regular editors reviewing and updating them. It is generally advised to not directly cite Wikipedia in your work but it can be a valuable resource to provide an overview of a subject and an introduction to key themes. The best articles on Wikipedia contain references to their sources and can include credible academic publications. Once you have explored a Wikipedia article, this can help you identify key terms to then use in the Library databases.
Stop - Before you read a page or post, STOP: Do you know the website or source of information and what is the reputation of the site and claim?
Investigate - You need to know what you are reading before you read it - you should know who has written it and why before you read on further. Is it significant and trustworthy enough for you to read and use?
Find - you may need to find better coverage of a claim. What is the expertise and agenda of the source, look for trusted reporting or analysis - can you find other coverage of the topic that is more reliable?
Trace - How has the source been edited or stripped of context? Can you trace the claim, quote or media back to the source and see it in the original context. Who is the speaker or publisher and do they have expertise or an agenda?
