Use the Library website to search across multiple databases:
If you have details of an article from a journal and you are not sure how to get the full-text:
| Step one |
Check to see if we have the electronic version of a journal article on the Electronic Journals page (under the 'Find' menu on the Library website) |
|
Step |
If it isn't available electronically, see if we have it in print by doing a 'book search' on the Library website at https://library.lincoln.ac.uk (you can also narrow down by periodical/serial) - then go to the 3rd floor of the Library, locate and photocopy or scan the article you need. |
| Step three | If it isn't available electronically or in print, request it via the Interlibrary loans service at https://guides.library.lincoln.ac.uk/find/ills |
Multi-disciplinary journals, reports and proceedings.
This link opens in a new windowAbstracts and index of articles covering health, social services, psychology, sociology, economics, politics, race relations and education.
Abstracts and index of articles covering health, social services, psychology, sociology, economics, politics, race relations and education.
Shared off-air recording and media archive service. Programmes can only be viewed in the UK.
You will need to register with the site before you can access the content.
Access journals, books and other important reference sources in the humanities.
Access the abstracts of journal articles from a range of different publishers. If the University of Lincoln subscribes to a listed journal, then many of that journal's articles will also be available in full text.
This link opens in a new windowAccess references to journal articles, books, reviews and selected chapters dating back to 1951. IBSS focuses mainly on the four core social science disciplines - anthropology, economics, politics and sociology - but it also covers a range of interdisciplinary subjects. IBSS is especially strong on international material with over 50 per cent of journals published outside the US or UK.
JSTOR provides access to more than 12 million journal articles, books, images, and primary sources in 75 disciplines.
JSTOR provides access to more than 12 million journal articles, books, images, and primary sources in 75 disciplines.
Lexis+ provides access to a range of case law, legislation, commentary, and current awareness. This includes the full text of volumes 1-50 of Halsbury's Laws of England.
Full text access to business information and major international newspapers including foreign language sources. Date coverage varies by individual title from 1980s to today.
Palgrave Macmillan provides access to over 50 full-text titles in the business, economics, politics and sociology subject areas via the SpringerLink database.
Access to 80 journal titles from an archive of hundreds of digitised journals published in the arts, humanities and social sciences.
Provides access to all SAGE journals covering a wide range of subject areas including business, humanities, social sciences, science, technology and medicine periodicals.
Abstract and citation database of peer-reviewed research literature from scientific, technical, medical and social sciences fields and, more recently, also in the arts and humanities.
SocINDEX with Full Text is a sociology research database. It contains full text for more than 860 journals dating back to 1908. This database also includes full text for more than 830 books and monographs, and full text for over 16,800 conference papers.
Finding aid to Women's Studies resources in The National Archives, Kew, combined with original documents.
1. Identify main concepts and keywords. Search the main concepts first, then limit further as necessary.
2. Find Synonyms (Boolean OR broadens the search to include alternative keywords or subject thesaurus terms):
3. AND (joins concepts and narrows the search) :
4. Be aware of differences in American and English spelling and terminology. Most databases use American spelling and terminology as preferred subject terms.
5. Use Truncation (putting * at the end of a word stem will search all forms of the word). * within a word can be used to search both American and English spelling:
6. "...." (inverted commas) use for a phrase
Many databases allow you to set up an account and save searches.
