Skip to Main Content
The Library

Law

A guide to using the library's resources

The Law School follows the OSCOLA style of referencing:

book cover of OSCOLA referencing handbook

Should I reference it as a print or online journal?

The OSCOLA referencing handbook provides information on how to reference print and online journals.

The majority of the journals that you will find (through databases like Westlaw, LexisLibrary or the library website) are print journals that have been made available electronically.  For these journals you should follow the guidelines of a print journal.

Occasionally you will come across journals that are only accessible online (these are often from relatively unknown or small publishing companies).   An example of this is the European Journal of Current Legal Issues.  Journals like these are known as eJournals and should be referenced following the guidelines of an online journal.

You can find out more about whether a journal is available in print by searching for the publisher and publication. 

 

Oscola referencing tutorial

Example of a Table of Cases, Table of Legislation and Bibliography

Click on the Word document below to see an example of how a Table of Cases, Table of Legislation and Bibliography should be set out at the end of your assignment.

Referencing Topic Overviews or Key Legal Concepts in Westlaw

When referring to Topic Overviews or Legal Concepts from Westlaw, follow the guidelines for referencing a website but put the name of the database in place of the URL:

Topic Overview

Daniel Greenberg, ‘Land Registration’ (Overview of Topic, 15 October 2019) <Westlaw> accessed 18 September 2020.

Key Legal Concept

Daniel Greenberg, 'Cabinet' (Key Legal Concept, 16 August 2020) <Westlaw> accessed 14 September 2020.

Referencing Practice Notes in Practical Law

When referring to Practice Notes from Practical Law, follow the guidelines for referencing a website but put the name of the database in place of the URL:

Oliphant R, 'COVID-19 - Electronic Signatures, Digital Signatures and E-Signing Platforms FAQs' (Practice Notes) <Practical Law> accessed 11 January 2021.