Royal Marsden Manual Online
Clinical nurse experts from one of the UK’s leading centres of expertise have brought together all the latest clinical evidence nurses need to meet confidently the requirements of their demanding profession. The Manual includes over 350 evidence-based clinical procedures related to every aspect of care, from handwashing to cardiopulmonary resuscitation.
Click here to access RMMOnline
A selection of clinical skills books available in the Ross Library
Clinical Skills for Nurses by
Clinical Skills for Nurses A handy introduction to the essential practical procedures that nurses need to know Clinical Skills for Nurses is designed to help student nurses understand the practice of common clinical skills and procedures in various healthcare environments, from the acute hospital ward to the community setting. Written by a highly experienced nurse and Practice Development Trainer, this pocket-sized guide covers 16 clinical skills in an accessible, step-by-step format. Numerous activities and exercises build your confidence and competence, whilst end-of-chapter questions test your understanding of intravenous therapy, tracheotomy care, bowel care, early patient assessment and response, basic life support, and more. Now in its second edition, Clinical Skills for Nurses provides new and updated material throughout, including information about the PUREWICK female external catheter, constipation, moisture lesions, Aseptic Non-Touch Technique (ANTT), and the National Early Warning Score (NEWS2). This edition also includes more 'Test Your Knowledge' questions, new links to internet resources, and coverage of four additional clinical skills: stoma care, continence care, anaphylaxis, and performing an electrocardiogram (ECG). Reflects the current NMC standards for pre-registration education and the Essential Skills Clusters Provides the underpinning knowledge of how each clinical skill should be performed Features valuable tips, hints, and advice from real-life student nurses Includes numerous examples drawn from a variety of real-world nursing and healthcare scenarios Contains a wealth of learning tools, including glossary boxes, key points, learning outcomes, illustrations, tables, and graphs Developed by nursing students for nursing students, Clinical Skills for Nurses, Second Edition is a must-have guide for all student nurses as well as newly qualified or more experienced nurses looking to refresh their knowledge of clinical skills.
Eureka: Clinical Skills, Diagnostics and Reasoning by
How to undertake key clinical tests, make effective diagnoses and develop logical clinical reasoning. Clinical Skills, Diagnostics and Reasoningprovides detailed coverage of the history and examination of all major body systems. It will be an essential resource as you start on the wards. Key features: an engaging and authoritative style- with everything you need in one place realistic clinical cases- these show how skilled clinicians work through a presentation, and put disease and biomedical principles into context extensive range of photographs- superb clinical photos show exactly how to undertake a broad range of examinations and tests starter questions- stimulating questions and answers to test your knowledge and highlight the level of detail you need study boxes- these highlight tips, tricks and key learning points Designed to take you from the lecture theatre to the ward - from anatomy and physiology to typical clinical cases and how they are assessed. By fully integrating basic science and clinical medicine,Clinical Skills, Diagnostics and Reasoningwill equip you with the core knowledge and skills you will need for exams and placements!
Essential Clinical Skills in Nursing by
Your complete solution for modern clinical skills educationAccompanied by over 25 videos and written by an experienced team of nursing educators and practitioners, this innovative textbook will support your clinical skills training across all years of your degree.Taking a holistic and inclusive approach, the book presents both the theory, rationale and 'how to' of each procedure, as well as crucial interconnected skills such as communication, clinical reasoning and person-centred practice. Written in clear, straightforward language and mapped to the NMC Future Nurse Standards, the book delivers a complete solution for mastering the essential clinical skills you need as a student and registered nurse.How will the book support my learning?· Offers access to more than 25 videos alongside the text, demonstrating clinical skills in practice, from oxygen administration to venepuncture, cannulation and more· Structured around the 2018 NMC standards procedures annexe providing full curriculum coverage· Draws on over 30 case study scenarios and 'voices' from real pre-registration nursing students that bring clinical skills to life· Includes over 60 activities, key term definitions and other features to hone your understanding through self-testing, reflection and critical thinking· Relevant to students across all four fields of nursing
The Nursing Associate's Handbook of Clinical Skills by
The Nursing Associate's Handbook of Clinical Skills The Nursing Associate's Handbook of Clinical Skills provides evidence-based guidance for those undertaking the newly developed Nursing Associate (NA) role that bridges the gap between the Health Care Assistant (HCA) and the Registered Nurse (RN). Structured around the latest Nursing and Midwifery Council (NMC) Proficiencies, this invaluable handbook helps the prospective Nursing Associates develop the skills and core competencies required to succeed in a broad range of healthcare contexts--covering more than 90 procedures, and communication and relationship management skills. This timely resource features contributions from a team of experienced clinicians and academics, addressing clinical procedures on topics including skin integrity, nutrition and hydration, mobility and safety, respiratory care, managing infection, administering medicine, and end of life care. Clear, accessible chapters contain a wealth of effective learning tools, including self-assessment tests, review questions, links to electronic resources, supporting evidence, and more. This must-have textbook: Helps trainee Nursing Associates to develop and refine their skills, and demonstrate proficiency in offering care and support Reflects current NMC annexes, providing practical guidance on a diverse range of communication skills, strategies and procedures Covers the central elements of Nursing Associate care provision, including delivery, monitoring, and reviewing Includes colour illustrations, photographs, tables, charts, graphs, and algorithms designed to develop skills and demonstrate the links between theory and practice Presenting the principles of care essential for meeting the needs of patients in dynamic health and social care environments, The Nursing Associate's Handbook of Clinical Skills is an indispensable guide for trainee Nursing Associates, as well as for health and social care assistants and those returning to practice.
Essential Clinical Skills for Nurses by
This little book is an ideal clinical skills reference for nursing students and junior health care practitioners. Its easy to navigate design and step-by-step approach allows for information to be accessed quickly to help students review skills while on placement and prepare for their OSCE exams. Essential equipment tick lists helps ensure students know what they need to perform clinical skills. All fields of nursing are covered with tips throughout to help students support every patient group. Introduces different approaches to performing clinical skills in community and acute settings Helps students and new practitioners feel confident performing the skill in any situation.
