Search books and journal articles using the library website: http://library.lincoln.ac.uk
A selection of new books for Nursing, Health & Social Care and Allied Health Professions recently purchased by the Library
Evidence-Based Practice for Nurses and Allied Health Professionals by
This long-standing textbook provides a clear overview of evidence-based practice. It explores the basic principles of knowledge, evidence and decision making and guides students through the process of crtitquing and using evidence in their day-to-day practice. The 5th edition has been updated to reflect contemporary approaches, drawing from lessons learned during the Covid-19 pandemic and includes a new chapter explaining the difference between evaluation, audit and research.
Foundations for Health Promotion by
This hugely popular textbook provides a broad-based and user-friendly introduction to health promotion and its use in practice. Written by Professor Jane Wills, the book takes the reader through health promotion theory, strategy and methods, settings and implementation. It is clearly structured and accessibly written, with a discursive style that will appeal to readers of all levels and sufficient theoretical depth for undergraduates and postgraduates alike. Foundations for Health Promotion is suitable for students and practitioners of nursing, medicine, dentistry, allied health and social work, who will learn the essentials of health promotion as a discipline and reflect on its potential for their own work. Packed with interactive exercises to consolidate learning Focus on application of knowledge to practice Self-reflection on practice in each chapter to encourage deeper engagement Case studies and research examples provide evidence base for health promotion in different professions and areas of practice New chapters on health protection, communicating health and healthy universities New chapter on evaluating research and evidence - key components of workforce competencies Thoroughly revised and updated throughout to reflect recent changes in health promotion theories, practice and policy Accompanying videos narrated by Professor Wills give an overview of key topics
Foundations for Practice in Occupational Therapy by
Now in its sixth edition, the internationally acclaimed Foundations for Practice in Occupational Therapy continues to provide a practical reference tool which is both an indispensable guide to undergraduates and a practical reference tool for clinicians in the application of models and theories to practice. Underlining the importance and clinical relevance of theory to practice, the text provides an excellent introduction to the theoretical basis of occupational therapy. Contributions are given by both academics and expert clinicians. All chapters have been revised and updated, new ones have been written and some pre-existing chapters have new authors. A refined structure uses highlight boxes to indicate the key themes and issues of each chapter and useful reflective questions to help the reader review the issues raised in the chapter. Discusses evidence-based practices and established theories but also includes contemporary developments Range of expert contributors provide an international perspective of practice Case studies highlighting the application of theory to practice Details of the latest developments and debates in the field Chapters on the various conceptual models Highlight boxes throughout indicating key themes/issues Reflective questions at the end of each chapter
Fundamentals of Children and Young People's Anatomy and Physiology by
Fundamentals of Children and Young People's Anatomy and Physiology contains the critical knowledge required to provide safe and effective care to young people. Emphasising the application of evidence-based theory to practice, this comprehensive yet accessible textbook helps nursing and healthcare students understand how children's anatomical and physiological systems influence disease processes and treatment options differently than in adults. Highly visual, succinct yet comprehensive, this textbook presents an overview of the structure and function of each body system, supported by clinical applications demonstrating how the concepts relate to nursing in practice. Fully revised to reflect the Future Nurse Curriculum Standards, this second edition contains a new chapter on physical growth and development, discussion of social, political, and environmental impacts to children's health and wellbeing, updated problems and activities, and more. Each chapter includes a range of effective pedagogical tools, such as learning objectives, clinical considerations, body maps, and self-assessment questions. Designed to prepare students for their careers in delivering high-quality care for children in a range of settings, this leading textbook: Provides information on the anatomical and physiological changes that leads to an altered state of health Emphasises clinical application throughout, applying the anatomy and physiology to common health conditions in children Offers a structured and comprehensive approach to child-related anatomy and physiology theory to prepare students for practice Fundamentals of Children and Young People's Anatomy and Physiology is essential reading for nursing and healthcare students, and a useful reference for nurses, nursing associates, healthcare assistants, assistant practitioners, and other professionals working in the field. All content is reviewed by students for students. If you would like to be one of our student reviewers, go to www.reviewnursingbooks.com to find out more.
Handbook of Special Tests in Musculoskeletal Examination by
Despite growing reliance on imaging, clinical examination remains the bedrock of diagnosis of the musculoskeletal patient. Special tests have widespread utility particularly in sport and can often help to elucidate a patient's presentation where the lesion is subtle and otherwise difficult to detect and, in turn, guide management and treatment. Special Tests in Musculoskeletal Examination 2nd Edition is a pocketbook guide to over 100 peripheral tests. It includes: a fully illustrated step-by-step guide to each test giving clinicians all the information they need at their fingertips. a focussed review of the latest evidence and how this applies to practice. use of clinical tips and expert opinion to allow clinicians to select the most appropriate test and interpret the results meaningfully. Full review of the evidence integrated into the entire text. New clinical context section at the start of each section making it easy to find and providing advanced background knowledge to extend the readers knowledge. Brand new colour photography to show each test clearly throughout. Additional tests included allowing readers to extend their knowledge and understanding.
Leadership, Management and Team Working in Nursing by
Leadership is central to all aspects of the nursing role, from managing the delivery of high quality care to acting as a role model for best practice. Written specifically for nursing students, this book introduces you to the principles and practice of leadership, management and multi-disciplinary team working. Key features:o Each chapter is mapped to the 2018 NMC standardso Introduces the core leadership theory you need to know, using case studies and reflective activities to show how it relates to your practiceo Updated throughout including new content on the impact of COVID-19 and increased coverage of emotional intelligence and resilienceo Builds your understanding of the challenging aspects of leadership including managing conflict, being assertive and leading service improvement
Myles Midwifery Anatomy and Physiology Workbook by
The latest edition of this popular volume offers a wide selection of appealing, interactive and engaging exercises specifically tailored for different learning styles. Fully updated in response to student feedback, Myles Midwifery Anatomy and Physiology Workbook, Second Edition presents a wide variety of activities ranging from colouring and labelling exercises and 'match and connect' to 'true false' and 'identify the correct response'. Perfect for readers who find A&P challenging, or for anyone who just needs to recap and consolidate, the book also offers: . An engaging approach to afford a stimulating way to learn A&P . Straightforward language and a user-friendly style to help simplify challenging areas of study . Information based on the latest RCOG and NICE Guidelines . Content that is suitable for use internationally, for example, by including different approaches to manoeuvres or named movements used in obstetric emergencies Ideal for all students of midwifery, Myles Midwifery Anatomy and Physiology Workbook is perfect for preregistration readers and anyone on 'return to practice' programs. Although designed for use with Myles Textbook for Midwives and Physiology in Childbearing with Anatomy and Related Biosciences, this resource is suitable for use with any midwifery textbook.
The Pocket Guide to Critical Appraisal by
This second edition of the popular guide to critical appraisal is a fully updated revision of the previous edition. Written in the same easily accessible style, The Pocket Guide to Critical Appraisal now provides annotated checklists of the most common research designs. Consistent with recent developments in evidence-based medicine, these checklists distinguish between the risk of bias in the conduct of published studies and the value of the findings for healthcare delivery. Five new chapters have been added and the original chapters have been rewritten, making the new edition a complete and concise guide for the evaluation of research quality. In addition to the checklists, the book also: describes how to quickly identify the information needed for the critical appraisal provides simple explanations of statistical significance and the interpretation of confidence intervals reviews the major sources of bias and their impact on research findings explains how to summarise the risk of bias outlines the concept of certainty of evidence and how to calculate it identifies the challenges in assessing the value of research findings The Pocket Guide to Critical Appraisal is an essential guide for all health professions and students who read research papers and use their findings.
A Student's Guide to Placements in Health and Social Care Settings by
Supporting students on placements in health and social care settings, this accessible guide provides a framework for understanding the theory behind successful practice as well as the critical skills needed to apply it. A Student's Guide to Placements in Health and Social Care Settings takes theory beyond the classroom and apply it to real settings, enabling students to recognise their own learning journey and develop their own distinct professional identity within a wider interprofessional context. This is a key resource for placement experience with insights from experts and advice direct from students who have already been on placement. With clear guidelines, and structured so that you can dip into different chapters as needed, it responds to the unique nature of placement opportunities and is the first line resource students should turn to. Whatever course you're studying in the caring profession - Social Work, Health and Social Care, Youth Work, Nursing or Counselling - this is essential reading to help understand how theory can support and improve your placement experience, ensuring you get the very most out of it.
Understanding Medicines Management for Nursing Students by
Understanding medicines management is central to the nursing role. As a nurse, you will need to make informed decisions about medicine use and optimisation, tailored to each patient. This book equips you with the theoretical and practical foundation to do just that. It covers all key components of medicines management, using a scenario-based approach to illustrate how each topic relates to your practice. Key features · Fully mapped to the NMC standards of proficiency for registered nurses (2018) · Scenarios and activities help you to translate the theory into nursing practice · Acts as a stepping stone to support your readiness to undertake a prescribing qualification upon registration
Try browsing the shelves for a particular topic. The majority of books for nursing and allied health will be located in The Ross Library for Biomedical & Health Sciences, which is located on the 1st floor of the Ross Lucas Medical Sciences Building. If you wish to check the location of a book, please check on the Library website
344 Health law (third floor of University Library)
361.61 Social policy
362.1 Healthcare
610.73 Nursing
611 Anatomy
612 Physiology
613 Health promotion
615 Pharmacology
615.82 Physiotherapy
616 Diseases
618.2 Midwifery
