Skip to main content
The Library

Distance Learners: Management courses

A guide to using the library's resources for students studying business and management as a Work-based Distance Learner.

What are journals and why are they important?

Journals are regular scholarly publications which contain articles on specific subjects.

They are important in academic research for a number of reasons:

  • they are the main forum by which research is published,
  • they can explore a narrow topic in depth,
  • they contain current or recent research findings,
  • they are often peer-reviewed so that research findings are checked by other subject experts.

How do I search for journal articles for my assignment?

There are two main ways to search for journal articles:

  • The library website search box will retrieve journal articles from a selection of the Library's collections 
  • Databases - the University Library subscribes to a selection of databases providing access to abstracts, indexes and full-text articles. For more information on using databases, click on Databases 

What are databases?

Research databases contain:

  • abstracts (short descriptions of what an article or paper is about)
  • full journal articles (if they are part of the subscription package)
  • conference papers on specific subjects

How do I search for journal articles using databases?

  • Go to the Databases page on the library website and find the database that you would like to search
  • Click on the blue title link (if you are off campus you may be asked to enter your student email address and Blackboard password)

How do I search for newspaper articles?

The following databases provide access to newspapers:

How do I find journal articles for my assignment?

Search for journal articles using the library website: http://library.lincoln.ac.uk  

Help with searching for journal articles:

  1. Type your keywords (e.g. leadership and management) into the search box
  2. Click on Search.

You can refine your results by:

  1. Selecting either full text online or peer reviewed
  2. Sliding the date bar to your chosen date 
  3. Selecting other options such as Academic Journals, subject area, publisher, journal, etc.

You can also add additional keywords (e.g. armed forces) to the search box but, be aware that you will need to re-select your refine your search again from the options to the left of the screen. 

When you have found an article that you are interested in:

  1. Click on the title of the article 
  2. Read the abstract and, if you would like to read the full article, click on the View online link (if available)  
  3. If you are not already logged on you will need to enter your student email address (studentIDnumber@students.lincoln.ac.uk) and Blackboard password. 

Why am I having problems accessing online journals?

If you find a journal article that you would like to read, as long as the University subscribes to the journal, you will be able to access it by entering your student email address and your (Blackboard) password.

Your student email address is: studentID number@students.lincoln.ac.uk    

If you are struggling to access the journal, please contact your Subject Librarian hewilliams@lincoln.ac.uk

New articles

A good way of keeping up-to-date with current research is to subscribe to alerts from your favourite journals.

JournalTOCs is a free service which allows you to set up alerts to any new articles published by business and management journals.

A selection of recent articles from International Journal of Logistics Management:

Loading ...

Electronic Journals A-to-Z

If you have a reference to a journal article, see if it is available in full-text electronically by searching for the title of the journal (not the article) on the Electronic Journals A-to-Z

BrowZine

Search e-journals