Databases provide access to collections of information such as books, journals, encyclopedias, etc. Some databases provide information in full [text] whilst others will only give the reference and an abstract.
You will need to use them when you research.
The advantage of using databases (rather than Google or Google Scholar) when researching is that you can be assured that the information you retrieve is from a reliable source.
The search box on the library website searches across a large number of databases in one search; however, there are some databases that are not included in the library website.
Use the Library website to search across multiple databases: http://library.lincoln.ac.uk
Click here for a list of databases not available in the library website search.
Multi-disciplinary journals, reports and proceedings.
Access to the Emerald database of full-text articles covering a range of subjects from management, marketing, economics, engineering, health and social care and tourism.
Access financial accounts of over 550,000 public and private companies in the UK and Ireland, from information received from Companies House. Records can be searched by company name, geographical region, SIC codes, number of employees, and by financial criteria such as turnover.
Help with logging in: Under "Find your organisation" search for University of Lincoln. Select this and you will be redirected to our standard log-in screen. Use your university email address and password.
Access the abstracts of journal articles from a range of different publishers. If the University of Lincoln subscribes to a listed journal, then many of that journal's articles will also be available in full text.
Provides access to all SAGE journals covering a wide range of subject areas including business, humanities, social sciences, science, technology and medicine periodicals.
Chat with me on MS Teams