No, not all books are available electronically; the publisher decides if a textbook will be made available electronically and whether that book can be accessed online or downloaded.
If there is a book on your reading list that is not available electronically it is because the academic responsible for that reading list thinks that it is important.
The Library does try to encourage academics to identify a chapter of the book as this can often be digitised under the Library's Copyright Licensing Agency (CLA) Licence.
Go to the Library website and search for a book:
If you find a book that is available electronically it will have a Log in to ebook here link:
Access the ebook by:
PLEASE NOTE: The majority of academic ebooks are designed to be read online at the time of access. Some ebook providers and publishers will allow a chapter (or 10% of the book) to be downloaded for you to keep, others will allow a book to be downloaded for a certain amount of time.
The number of pages you can print is limited by copyright.
If you are struggling to read an ebook:
If you have any questions about ebooks, please email your Subject Librarian.
Academic ebooks are designed to be read on the screen; however, some providers do give the option to download specific chapters or the entire book for a limited period of time:
In addition to the library website search, the following databases provide full-text electronic books:
Provides access to a huge collection of full-text eBooks across a range of subject areas.
On-campus:- You may see an OpenAthens login screen when accessing Ebook Central on-campus. See our FAQ - How do I login via OpenAthens?
Searchable access to a small collection of full-text electronic books (e-books), across a range of subject areas.
Full-text eBooks on a range of subjects comprising the Academic, Business, Education, History and Nursing collections from Ebsco.
