Guides: Film & Media in the School of Creative Arts: How to find Newspapers & Magazines

Finding newspaper articles

We have online newspapers both current and historical.

Lexis+ and Nexis are more current and run from the 1980s to the present. Lexis is good for UK and Irish broadsheet, tabloid and regional papers whereas Nexis is more international. The articles are in HTML format.
We also have access to some newspapers in digitised fascimile format, so each page can be viewed as it would have been in the original paper. These titles tend to go back to the very first edition printed, but not up to the current edition (with the exception of The Daily Express archive).
You may also find more recent newspaper articles available to view though the web, although they are less likely to be produced exactly as they are in print.

The links below will help you get started on that search:

Lexis+ UK Newspapers

Lexis+ UK Newspapers provides full text access to UK national and regional newspapers. Date coverage varies by individual title from 1980s to today.
For international newspaper content visit Nexis.
Nexis Uni

Full text access to business information and major international newspapers including foreign language sources. Date coverage varies by individual title from 1980s to today.
Daily Mail Historical Archive, 1896-2004

Access to the Daily Mail archive for all articles published between 1896 and 2004. The archive also includes access to the Atlantic editions, published between 1923 and 1931.

Described by the New Yorker as "the newspaper that rules Britain", the Daily Mail has been at the heart of British journalism since 1896, regularly changing the course of government policy and setting the national debate. Its website is among the most visited news sites in the world. The Daily Mail Historical Archive includes more than one hundred years of this major UK national newspaper, viewable in full digital facsimile form, with copious advertisements, news stories, and images that capture twentieth-century culture and society.
As well as the regular edition of the newspaper, the Daily Mail Historical Archive also includes the Daily Mail Atlantic Edition, which was published on board the cruise ships that sailed between New York and Southampton from 1923 to 1931. Copies were printed and sold to passengers on every day of the five- day voyages, with news transmitted from London and New York to the middle of the Atlantic by wireless radio transmission. These editions published different content to the regular London version of the paper and contained articles specifically commissioned for the journey, with a heavy emphasis on American content.
Admin: reviewed 16/07/2024
Gale Primary Sources

Research tool which allows you to search across multiple collections of primary source documents (historical newspapers, manuscripts, rare monographs and archive collections).

Gale Primary Sources brings the thoughts, words, and actions of past centuries into the present for a comprehensive research experience. With authoritative content and powerful search technologies, this platform has been thoughtfully designed to help students and researchers examine literary, political, and social culture of the last 500 years and develop a more meaningful understanding of how history continues to impact the world today. All of the collections on the Gale Primary Sources platform are meticulously indexed to improve discovery, analysis, and workflow for every user who is looking to push past the traditional boundaries of research.
Admin: reviewed 16/07/2024
The Times Digital Archive

Access The Times of London from 1785 - 2019. The entire newspaper is captured, including all articles, advertisements and illustrations/photos.

The Times Digital Archive is an online, full-text facsimile of more than 200 years of The Times, one of the most highly regarded resources for eighteenth-, nineteenth-, and twentieth-century news coverage. This historical newspaper archive allows researchers an unparalleled opportunity to search and view the best-known and most cited newspaper in the world online in its original published context. Read by both world leaders and the general public, The Times has offered readers in-depth, award-winning, objective coverage of world events since its creation in 1785 and is the oldest daily newspaper in continuous publication. With over 12 million articles available, the archive supports research across multiple disciplines and areas of interest, including business, humanities, political science, and philosophy, along with coverage of all major international historical events.
All articles included in The Times Digital Archive are displayed as digital page images and all allow full-text searching. These digitized pages, also known as facsimile images, let you view the pages as they originally appeared in print. Years of coverage depend on your library's subscription and are displayed in the product banner on the homepage.
Admin: reviewed 16/07/2024
UKPressOnline (Daily Express)

Access to over two million pages of the 19th-21st Centuries’ newspapers, from 1835 to today, all as published on the day they were published and all searchable by name, word, phrase and date. The ukpressonline database is a resource for histors and anyone who wants to explore history as seen by the reporters and commentators who were there.
ProQuest One Business

An intuitive and comprehensive business library containing millions of full-text items across scholarly and popular periodicals, newspapers, market research reports, dissertations, books, videos and more.

Contains access to resources from ABI/INFORM Collection, Accounting & Tax Collection, As Business Collection, Business Market Research Collection, Business Video Database, Entrepreneurship Database & J.P. Morgan Research.

Newspapers at the British Library

Newspapers - The British Library
The British Library holds over 34,000 titles from the UK and overseas, or 60 million individual issues. The newspaper collection includes the ongoing legal deposit collection of UK and Irish newspapers.
British Library Newsroom
Information about the newsroom at the British Library on Floor 2 in St Pancras.
British Library Researching Newspapers
Information and advice from the British Library about how to find newspaper articles
How to get a Reader Pass for the British Library Collection
Access over 200 million collection items for free with a Reader Pass. Carry out research in the British Library Reading Rooms and access the online collections.
British Newspaper Archive
The British Newspaper Archive provides online access to local and regional newspapers from across Britain and Ireland, with more pages added every week. It is free to search and the first three pages are free to view when you register.
Which newspapers have been digitised?
This blog provides details of which newspapers have been digitised.

Newspapers at Lincoln Central Public Library

Local Studies collection at Lincoln Central Library
The local studies collection includes:
Lincolnshire Echo (1879-1888, 1893 to date),
Lincolnshire Chronicle 1833-1959 (incomplete)
Stamford Mercury 1712-1908 (incomplete) and 1987-2020.
Short runs of other local newspapers are also available.
News cuttings: Dating from 1980s onwards covering notable Lincoln figures and events.
The British Newspaper Archive - only accessible on site at a Lincolnshire Library
This archive contains runs of influential national and regional newspapers. Please ask at Lincolnshire Library for further details and about access to this online resource as you may need to be a registered user of their library.