Start doing some exploring on specialist databases to find articles in journals for your assignments.
Keep up to date with the latest: exhibitions, artists, designers, research, festivals, competitions, trends, events, conferences and projects in your academic field. Get inspired by artists and practitioners that you find when browsing the collection.
An academic journal is a regular publication which contains detailed research within a particular academic discipline Academic journals serve as forums for the introduction and presentation of new research and the critique of existing research. Use journal articles to discuss theories and current thinking in essays and dissertations.
In-depth coverage of the world's foremost academic and popular film journals. Includes “Treasures from Film Archives”; a detailed index of the silent-era film holdings of archives from around the world.
Major information resource for entertainment films and personalities produced in collaboration with the British Film Institute. International coverage from 1900 to present, indexing films from over 170 countries.
Website devoted to the history of British film and television, and to Britain's social history as revealed by film and television. University students and staff can access and view (but not download) hundreds of hours of video clips from the vast collections of the bfi National Film and Television Archive.
Art & Architecture Source includes 1,115 active indexed and abstracted journals, more than 63,000 images provided by Picture Desk and other sources, more than 14,000 indexed art dissertations and more than 556,000 indexed art reproductions.
Authors of books and journal articles also cite material they have used and these can be helpful to find for your own assignments. Many of the publications you find will contain relevant references and bibliographies. The disadvantage is that these titles always pre-date the publication in which they are mentioned. Another method of finding more material is citation searches.
Citation searches reverse this process: who has cited the publication you have found? In this way you will find recent literature. To find more academic material on the internet, you can use Google Scholar and see where the author/articles have been cited in further publications.
Some databases (e.g. Web of Science and Scopus) have this option.
Abstract and index database of articles from academic journals covering the sciences, social sciences, arts and humanities.
Abstract and citation database of peer-reviewed research literature from scientific, technical, medical and social sciences fields and, more recently, also in the arts and humanities.
1. Identify main concepts and keywords. Search the main concepts first, then limit further as necessary.
2. Find Synonyms (Boolean OR broadens the search to include alternative keywords or subject thesaurus terms):
3. AND (joins concepts and narrows the search) :
4. Be aware of differences in American and English spelling and terminology. Most databases use American spelling and terminology as preferred subject terms.
5. Use Truncation (putting * at the end of a word stem will search all forms of the word). * within a word can be used to search both American and English spelling:
6. "...." (inverted commas) use for a phrase
Magazines and journals are kept on the 3rd floor of the Library in alphabetical order by title. Find particular titles using the 'book search' function on the Library Website. Also, enjoy the physical copies by handling the paper format and make the most of serendipitous discovery within the pages of magazines and journals.
(Reused for educational purposes under Creative Commons license) https://www.flickr.com/photos/29069717@N02/28241242564
