If you need help with finding information or literature searching, please book an appointment with the Academic Subject Librarian for Medicine - click on the link below.
What is NUSearch?
NUsearch is the University of Nottingham's library collections discovery tool. Use it to search across all their library collections, including books, ebooks, journals, e-journals, databases and other resources. Alternatively, you may prefer to search the individual databases listed below.
How do I access NUSearch?
You can access NUSearch via the Medical Library website at: https://medical.library.lincoln.ac.uk
NUSearch FAQ
University of Nottingham's FAQ on using NUSearch is available at:
https://www.nottingham.ac.uk/library/collections/nusearchfaqs.aspx
What are databases and why do I need to use them?
Databases provide access to collections of information such as books, journals, encyclopedias, etc. Some databases provide information in full [text] whilst others will only give the reference and an abstract.
You will need to use them when you research. The databases listed on this guide are relevant to medicine.
The advantage of using databases (rather than Google or Google Scholar) when researching is that you can be assured that the information you retrieve is from a reliable source.
How do I access databases?
The databases listed on this guide are provided by the University of Nottingham. Access them by clicking on the database name - you will be prompted to log on with your University of Nottingham credentials.
Databases - A
AMED (Allied and Complementary Medicine)
A bibliographic database that covers more than 510 journals in complementary, or "alternative", medicine. Specific topics included are: physiotherapy, occupational therapy, rehabilitation, podiatry and palliative care.
ASSIA (Applied Social Sciences Index & Abstracts)
This database spans the literature of health, social services, psychology, sociology, economics, politics, race relations and education. The database contains abstracts and indexes over 500 journals from more than 16 countries.
Databases - B
BMJ Best Practice takes you quickly and accurately to the latest evidence-based information, whenever and wherever you need it.
The step-by-step guidance on diagnosis, prognosis, treatment and prevention is updated daily using robust evidence-based methodology and expert opinion.
The on-demand TV and radio service.
Official collection of standards for UK medicinal products and pharmaceutical substances.
Databases - C
Provides indexing for more than 5000 journals. Also full text for more than 770 nursing and allied health journals indexed in the CINAHL database, plus additional resources including Evidence-Based Care Sheets, Quick Lessons and more.
The Cochrane Library is a collection of databases that contain different types of high-quality, independent evidence to inform healthcare decision-making.
Consists of the following databases:
Databases - E
A biomedical and pharmaceutical database indexing over 3500 international journals in the following fields: drug research, pharmacology, pharmaceutics, toxicology, clinical and experimental human medicine, health policy and management, public health, occupational health, environmental health, drug dependence and abuse, psychiatry, forensic medicine and biomedical engineering/instrumentation.
Databases - H
HMIC - Health Management Information Consortium
Brings together the bibliographic database of two UK health and social care management organisations: the Department of Health's Library and Information Services (DH-Data) and King's Fund Information and Library Service.
Databases - M
Martindale: the complete drug reference
This database allows you to search for unbiased, up-to-date information about drugs and medicines used across the world. Information includes synonyms/chemical names, molecular formula, adverse effects and interactions. Access via MedicinesComplete.
Access to authoritative medical information on medicine, nursing, dentistry, veterinary medicine, the health care system, pre-clinical sciences, and much more. Created by the National Library of Medicine, MEDLINE uses MeSH (Medical Subject Headings) indexing with tree, tree hierarchy, subheadings and explosion capabilities to search citations from over 4,800 current biomedical journals.
Databases - P
Full-text, peer-reviewed scholarly and scientific articles in psychology from the American Psychological Association
PsycINFO provides abstracts and citations to the scholarly literature in the psychological, social, behavioural and health sciences. The database includes material of relevance to psychologists and professionals in related fields such as psychiatry, management, business, education, social sciences, neuroscience, law, medicine and social work. Updated weekly, PsycINFO provides access to journal articles, books, chapters and dissertations. It covers 1806 to present day.
Freely available abstract and index database comprising more than 30 million citations for biomedical literature from MEDLINE, life science journals, and online books.
Databases - S
A database for scientific research that contains the full-text of more than 1000 Elsevier Science journals in the life, physical, medical, technical and social sciences. Contains abstracts and articles from the core journal in major scientific disciplines. The journals are arranged under subject areas for topical navigation.
Databases - T
Clinical search engine which identifies and links to evidence-based material from a variety of English language sources such as peer-review journals, etexts, images and patient information.
Databases - W
