Guides: Lincoln Medical School: Specialist Subject Resources

How do I access Specialist Subject Resources?

Some of the resources featured in this guide are freely available, others will require you to log in using your University of Nottingham credentials.

Anatomy

Acland's Video Atlas of Human Anatomy Acland's Video Atlas of Human Anatomy uses fresh, unembalmed specimens that retain the color, texture, mobility--and beauty--of the living human body. A concise synchronized narration runs throughout the program. As each new structure is shown, its name appears on the screen. There is a self-testing feature at the end of each section.
Anatomy.tv Anatomy.tv is a detailed 3D interactive model of human anatomy, and, with the Complete Human Anatomy plus Interactive Functional Anatomy Collection, gives you online access to over one million in-depth images of the entire body. This tool gives you the instant ability to visually communicate procedures and anatomical structures with colleagues, students and patients alike. Focussing on muscles, ligaments, nerves, veins, arteries and bones. Features include: *Detailed 3D anatomical models with zoom, rotation and angle facilities *Interactive layering *Extensive text *MRI *Clinical slides and x-rays *Animations, videos and live action movies

Clinical Resources

BMJ Best Practice BMJ Best Practice provides fast and easy access to the latest evidence-based information for healthcare professionals. It is uniquely structured around the patient consultation with advice on symptom evaluation, test ordering, treatment approach and follow up.
Clinical Knowledge Summaries Provides primary care practitioners with a readily accessible summary of the current evidence base and practical guidance on best practice
Cochrane Clinical Answers Cochrane Clinical Answers (CCAs) provide a readable, digestible, clinically-focused entry point to rigorous research from Cochrane Reviews. They are designed to be actionable and to inform point-of-care decision-making. Each CCA contains a clinical question, a short answer, and data for the outcomes from the Cochrane Review deemed most relevant to practising healthcare professionals, our target audience.
TRIP (Turning Research Into Practice) Turning Research Into Practice allows users to rapidly and easily identify high quality medical evidence based literature from a wide range of sources. TRIP includes; critical appraisals of primary papers (including systematic reviews), guidelines, a query-answering service, a database of medical images, eTextbooks, patient information leaflets and searches across peer-reviewed journals.

Mind the Gap
A handbook of clinical signs in Black and Brown skin

Clinical Trials

Be Part of Research Produced by the National Institute for Health Research, this site provides information about clinical trials and other research from several different UK registers.
US Clinical Trials.gov Resource provided by the U.S. National Library of Medicine providing access to information on publicly and privately supported clinical studies on a wide range of diseases and conditions.
World Health Organization The International Clinical Trials search portal provides information about clinical trials from around the world

Critical Appraisal Resources

BestBETS Critical Appraisal Worksheets
BMJ Best Practice Critical Appraisal Checklists Part of their EBM Tools
CASP - Critical Appraisal Skills Programme The Critical Appraisal Skills Programme helps you make make sense of the evidence. They have produced eight critical appraisal tools which are designed to be used when reading research. These include tools for: Systematic Reviews Randomised Controlled Trials Cohort Studies Case Control Studies Economic Evaluations Diagnostic Studies Qualitative studies Clinical Prediction Rule
Centre for Evidence-Based Medicine (CEBM) CEBM produce a selection of critical appraisal worksheets including: Systematic Reviews Diagnostic Prognosis Randomised Controlled Trials Qualitative studies IPD Reviews
The Joanna Briggs Institute - critical appraisal tools Critical Appraisal Tools

Evidence-Based Resources

Cochrane Library The Cochrane Library is a collection of databases that contain different types of high-quality, independent evidence to inform healthcare decision-making.
NICE - National Institute for Health & Care Excellence
TRIP (Turning Research Into Practice)

Grey Literature

Grey literature is any literature not produced by commercial publishers. This can include dissertations and theses, annual reports, government reports, conference proceedings and newsletters.

EThOS This link opens in a new window Searchable index of UK theses with full text available to order.
- This link opens in a new window

HMIC (Health Management Information Consortium) he database is a compilation of official publications, journal articles and grey literature from the Department of Health's and King's Fund Library and Information Services. It covers health service policy, management and administration, with an emphasis on the British National Health Service; the quality of health services including hospitals, nursing, primary care and public health; the planning, design, construction and maintenance of health service buildings; occupational health; control and regulation of medicines; medical equipment and supplies; and social care and personal social services. The majority of records are from 1983 onwards.
Open Grey Open Grey includes technical or research reports, doctoral dissertations, some conference papers, some official publications, and other types of grey literature in the fields of science, technology, biomedical science, economics, social science and humanities.
Proquest Dissertations & Theses This database is the world's most comprehensive collection of dissertations and theses from around the world, spanning from 1861 to the present day and offering full text for most of the dissertations added since 1997.
Social Care Online Provides free access to a wealth of resources including a searchable database of references to research briefings, reports, government documents, journal articles and websites. It also includes online research tutorials and an extensive directory of links to other related social care websites.

Health Statistics

OHE - Office of Health Economics Guide to UK Health & Health Care Statistics
UK Government's National Statistics
Health & Care Statistics Includes a health & care statistics landscape for England produced by the Government Statistical Service.
NHS Digital NHS Digital collect, process and publish data and information from across the health and social care system in England.

Prescribing Resources

BNF (British National Formulary) The most authoritative drug reference for doctors and pharmacists. The BNF is a joint publication of the British Medical Association and the Royal Pharmaceutical Society of Great Britain. Provides healthcare professionals with sound up-to-date information about the use of medicines. This is for academic use only.
Martindale on Medicines Complete Martindale contains information on 5,300 drugs in clinical use worldwide including a general description and details of dosages, side effects etc. as well as references to relevant further reading. It also contains more than 600 overviews of diseases and drugs used in their treatment.
Medicines Complete MedicinesComplete provides online access to some of the world's leading drug and healthcare references including: • BNF for Children: guidance on the actions and uses of drugs prescribed in the UK for children • British National Formulary: guidance on the actions and uses of drugs prescribed in the UK • Dale and Appelbe's Pharmacy and Medicines Law: A definitive guide to the law relating to pharmacy and medicine practice in Great Britain • Disease Management: Introduction to diseases commonly encountered in primary care and the common therapeutic issues • Herbal Medicines: In-depth information and background on popular herbal remedies • Martindale: The Complete Drug Reference: Information and background on conventional and complementary drugs and associated compounds, international proprietary names, and disease treatments • Pharmaceutical Excipients: A guide to the uses, properties and safety of pharmaceutical excipients • Stockley's Drug Interactions: In-depth information about drug-drug, drug-food, and drug-herb interactions

Reference Resources

eLS (Wiley) The premier online reference in the life sciences. After logging in with Shibboleth off campus please select eLS from the publications list to redirect you back to the site.
Oxford Reference Oxford Reference Online includes over 1 million entries across 25 subject areas – everything from architecture to zoology. It offers the very best in quick reference information together with authoritative, in-depth articles by world-famous authors. It also offers excellent functionality, and a wide range of additional material such as maps, illustrations and timelines. Search hints: All searches are sent to the Full Text except Title searches, which are done in the Entry Headings. Boolean searches send both search terms to the search field selected in the first search box.