How do I find books?
You can search all of the University of Lincoln's print resources by going to https://medical.library.lincoln.ac.uk and selecting 'Search Lincoln Print Resources'
You can refine your search to just books available in the Medical Collection
Where to find print books
You will find the majority of books for medicine in The Ross Library for Biomedical & Health Sciences, which is located on the 1st floor of the Ross Lucas Medical Sciences Building. If you would like to check the location of a book, please check on the Medical Library website.
174.2 Medical Ethics
344 Health Law (located in the Law Library on the 3rd floor of the University Library)
611 Anatomy
612 Physiology
614.4 Epidemiology
615 Pharmacology
616 Diseases
New Books in the Medical Collection at Lincoln
Hough's Cardiorespiratory Care by
The latest edition of this must-have text book promises an evidence-based and practical approach covering the very latest in cardiorespiratory care. The textbook covers a wide range of cardiorespiratory conditions and discusses treatment of patients in different clinical settings such as critical care, the ward area and out-patient departments. It begins with physiology and pathology and progresses into a detailed patient assessment section and a discussion of specific respiratory and cardiac conditions. The final section covers different groups of people who may require physiotherapy such as infants, children, and adults with specific conditions including a considered section on palliative care. Critical thinking is facilitated by clinical reasoning boxes in the text, and problem-solving is aided by case studies at the end of each chapter. There are also relevant practice tips to enable transfer of learning into the clinical environment. The text is supported by over 280 line drawings and diagrams along with over 70 x-rays and photographs to further illustrate the points under discussion. Q & A case studies, with scans and x-rays Outcome measures for problems and diseases Boxes with learning and practice tips to encourage reflection Tables with definitions, normal values and comparisons Practical techniques described with precision Expanded cardiovascular section Updated practical details on physiotherapy techniques Extra chapters on surgical complications and interventions Comprehensive coverage of Critical Care procedures and rehabilitation Practicalities of the management of children and infants Update on the evaluation of outcomes
Gordis Epidemiology by
From the Department of Epidemiology at Johns Hopkins University and continuing in the tradition of award-winning educator and epidemiologist Dr. Leon Gordis, comes the fully revised 6th Edition of Gordis Epidemiology. This bestselling text provides a solid introduction to basic epidemiologic principles as well as practical applications in public health and clinical practice, highlighted by real-world examples throughout. New coverage includes expanded information on genetic epidemiology, epidemiology and public policy, and ethical and professional issues in epidemiology, providing a strong basis for understanding the role and importance of epidemiology in today's data-driven society. Covers the basic principles and concepts of epidemiology in a clear, uniquely memorable way, using a wealth of full-color figures, graphs, charts, and cartoons to help you understand and retain key information. Reflects how epidemiology is practiced today, with a new chapter organization progressing from observation and developing hypotheses to data collection and analyses. Features new end-of-chapter questions for quick self-assessment, and a glossary of genetic terminology. Provides more than 200 additional multiple-choice epidemiology self-assessment questions online. Enhanced eBook version included with purchase. Your enhanced eBook allows you to access all of the text, figures, and references from the book on a variety of devices.
Vanders Renal Physiology, Ninth Edition by
Publisher's Note: Products purchased from Third Party sellers are not guaranteed by the publisher for quality, authenticity, or access to any online entitlements included with the product. Perfect for USMLE® and Course Review in Renal Physiology! Combining the latest research with a fully integrated teaching approach, Vander's Renal Physiology, Ninth Edition clearly and expertly explains how the kidneys affect other body systems and how they in turn are affected by these systems. There is no better way learn the fundamental principles of the structure, function, and pathologies of the human kidney that are essential for an understanding of clinical medicine, than this time-tested resource. Here's why Vander's is the best review of renal physiology available for the USMLE® Step 1: * Begins with the basics and works up to advanced principles * Learning Aids include flow charts, diagrams, key concepts, clinical examples, boxed statements to emphasize major points, learning objectives, and review questions with answers and explanations * Focuses on the goals of renal processes and the logic of them * Presents the normal function of the kidney with clinical correlations to disease states
Textbook of Cancer Epidemiology by
Amid sweeping advances in the science and treatment of cancer, the Textbook of Cancer Epidemiology offers students and professionals a definitive, systematic resource for understanding the factors affecting all types of human cancer.This fully updated new edition offers an overview of epidemiology's key concepts and methods as they relate to cancer (including the emerging potential of biomarkers) as well as site-specific chapters on individual cancers' natural history, pathology, descriptive epidemiology, and etiology. Takentogether, these chapters forge connections between established science and the ongoing evolution of this dynamic field.Crisply and concisely written by an assembly of internationally recognized researchers, the Textbook of Cancer Epidemiology offers a superlative introduction to the subject's consensuses and controversies for those embarking on their careers and a ready reference for seasoned professionals.
McMinn and Abrahams' Clinical Atlas of Human Anatomy by
Abrahams' and McMinn's Clinical Atlas of Human Anatomy, 8th Edition delivers the straightforward visual guidance you need to perform confidently in all examinations and understand spatial relationships required during your medical training, while also acquiring the practical anatomical knowledge needed for your future clinical career. Respected authority Prof. Peter Abrahams and his team of leading international anatomists and radiologists link a vast collection of clinical images to help you master all the essential correlations between the basic science of anatomy and its clinical practice. See what to look for and how to proceed thanks to an unsurpassed collection of labelled dissection photographs, supported by clear, explanatory diagrams and modern imaging Correlate anatomy to clinical practice with a wealth of MR, CT, DSA, radiographic, endoscopic, and operative images that demonstrate how structures are viewed today in the clinical setting Thoroughly revised and updated throughout, including: brand new dissections, to further improve clarity and consistency throughout the book in every region all new colour overlays added to selected dissections making it even easier to identify key nerves, arteries, veins and especially lymphatics fully revised neuroanatomy content reflects the latest understanding of functional neuroanatomy as seen with modern 3D and functional imaging updated and coloured and a unique lymphatics section Includes access to the complete, enhanced eBook - unlocking a huge, carefully-selected collection of BONUS CLINICAL material, integrated throughout on almost every page to enhance your study and help make those essential clinical / anatomical connections. This sets Abrahams' and McMinn's apart from any other atlases of human anatomy! 200+ 3D scans,- allowing you to view the body in a more dynamic way to aid your understanding of dynamic anatomy. Master the 500 clinical conditions every physician should know by reviewing the associated clinical topics - featuring over 2000 additional clinical photos, radiological images, and case presentations not found in the printed book. Learn from the culmination of over 45 years international clinical experience of Prof. Abrahams and over 100 of his colleagues worldwide who have contributed to this unique collection of clinical anatomy images.
Physiology by
Enhanced by a new chapter, new illustrations, and new Q&As, Lippincott ® Illustrated Reviews: Physiology, Second Edition brings physiology clearly into focus, telling the story of who we are; how we live; and, ultimately, how we die. By first identifying organ function and then showing how cells and tissues are designed to fulfill that function, this resource decodes physiology like no other text or review book. Tailored for ease of use and fast content absorption, the book's outline format, visionary artwork, clinical applications, and unit review questions help students master the most essential concepts in physiology, making it perfect for classroom learning and test and boards preparation. A new chapter on erythropoiesis and blood gas transport provides critical information on this key topic. New content on the impact of normal aging on organ function brings the book thoroughly up to date. Review questions with explanations for each system help prepare students for course and board examinations. More than 600 annotated, full-color illustrations--including more than 20 new to this edition--guide readers step by step through complex processes. Overviews and Chapter Summaries set clear goals for topic mastery and reemphasize essential concepts in a coherent framework. Clinical Applications boxes and clinical images encourage readers to apply their knowledge, taking them from the classroom to the bedside. Margin Example Equation boxes and in-text boxes highlight memorable information and keep physiology in a real-world context. Five online animations explain complex concepts in a memorable way. A consistent outline format makes critical information easy to access and assimilate. Cross references and Infolinks to topics are keyed to page headers to expedite location and are also provided for topics in other books in the Lippincott ® Illustrated Reviews series to help students develop an interdisciplinary grasp of key concepts. Unit-review questions in board-review style test understanding of fundamental concepts as well as the students' ability to draw connections among multiple organ systems. eBook available for purchase. Fast, smart, and convenient, today's eBooks can transform learning. These interactive, fully searchable tools offer 24/7 access on multiple devices, the ability to highlight and share notes, and more
Evidence-Based Physical Diagnosis by
Fully updated from cover to cover, incorporating over 200 new studies on the evidence-based approach to diagnosis, the 4th Edition of Evidence-Based Physical Diagnosis remains your go-to resource for guidance on interpreting physical signs, enabling you to determine the most appropriate physical finding to confirm a diagnosis. Internationally renowned author Dr. Steven McGee puts the most current evidence at your fingertips, allowing you to quickly compare all physical signs for a given diagnosis, understand their significance, and then select the most accurate ones. Includes a unique evidence-based calculator online that enables you to easily determine probability using likelihood ratios. Features a reader-friendly outline format, including dozens of "EBM boxes" and accompanying "EBM ruler" illustrations. Provides new evidence on the scientific value of many physical findings, including Cheyne-Stokes respirations, subclavian stenosis, fever of unknown origin, porto-pulmonary hypertension, localization of stroke, and many more. Expert Consult eBook version included with purchase. This enhanced eBook experience allows you to search all of the text, figures, images, videos, and references from the book on a variety of devices. NEW two-color format improves readability and helps you find essential information faster. NEW Key Teaching Points at the beginning of every chapter, ideal for teachers of bedside medicine.
