Skip to Main Content
Libraries and Learning Skills

Lincoln Online

Information about library resources for online students

ebooks banner

Academic ebooks

You can access ebooks recommended by your tutor via your online reading list (search by module code or title or access it via the link in Canvas). 

Click on the 'View Online' link or click on the title link to see whether the ebook is available on more than one ebook database.

Academic eBooks

Searching for and accessing ebooks

When it comes to searching for ebooks for your own research, type keywords into the library search box. You can then narrow the results to ebooks by:

  • Scrolling down to the 'Source Types'
  • Clicking on 'Show More'
  • Selecting 'eBooks' and clicking on 'Update'

This will filter your results to ebooks only.  To access the full text, click on the PDF link (if available).  If this is not available, click on 'Find Full Text'.  You will be re-directed to a page with information on how to access the full text. 

If you are looking for a specific title, use the main search box but also check VLeBooks, Sage Catalyst and BibliU as the book may be available on these databases (which are not searchable from the main search box).  

If you are not already logged on you will be asked to enter your student email address (studentIDnumber@students.lincoln.ac.uk) and password.  

You can search for ebooks by:

  1. Using the 'Search the online library' box (this will search for e-resources only).
  2. Going to the main library website and using the search box (this will search for ebooks and print books so you will need to filter the results to ebooks only).
  3. Using the Publication finder. Type the title of the ebook into the search box and then use the drop-down arrow next to All to select ebooks only.
  4. Search the individual ebook databases.

Accessing and reading ebooks

Academic ebooks are designed to be read on the screen; however, some providers do give the option to download specific chapters or the entire book for a limited period of time:

You can download a BibliU ebook to your mobile or tablet via BibliU's app (available on Google Play or the App Store) or your desktop.

BibliU ebooks can be downloaded to a device for the length of the subscription period. If you download a BibliU book and you find that it disappears, it could be that the subscription has expired.

Ebook downloads are not available on Ebook Central but you may be able to download the PDF of a chapter. You will be limited by copyright on how much you can download/print/copy.

Ebsco ebooks will provide either the EPUBL or PDF full text link. Up to 100 pages of an eBook can be saved for printing or emailing. Please note that the number of pages available may vary depending on individual publisher specified limits.

In Sage Catalyst there is a button at the top of the screen that will tell you how many pages of an ebook can be downloaded.

Some titles on VLeBooks can be downloaded. If the download option is available you can select either 1 or 3 days.

To be able to download the ebook you will need to have Adobe Digital Editions installed on your device.

Frequently Asked Questions (FAQs)

If you are unable to access an ebook, please:
  • check that you have Adobe Digital Editions installed on your device. You can download it for free here.
  • try an alternative browser, e.g. Google Chrome or FireFox.
  • see how many licences the library has. It could be that all the licences are being used at that time. If this is the case, try to access the ebook later.

You are limited by UK copyright law to the number of pages you can print. Click here for more information.

Everything you need to complete your module should be available online; however, when doing independent research you may find something in the library's collection that isn't available electronically.

If you only require a chapter you can request this using the library's Scan and Send service. Please note that you may only request up to one chapter from a book. These limits are governed by copyright legislation, and you will be required to complete a copyright declaration when making your request.

If you would like to read the whole book contact your Academic Subject Librarian to enquiry whether it is available in ebook format for libraries to purchase.

Subjects: Lincoln Online