Skip to Main Content
Libraries and Learning Skills

Referencing and plagiarism

Harvard

Harvard is a particular style of referencing.  It is also known as the author-date system.  There are many variations of Harvard, which may use different formatting/punctuation, so it is important that you follow the University of Lincoln version.   

There are two parts to Harvard referencing:

  1. the in-text citation, which contains the basic details about the source (i.e. author's surname and year of publication) in the main part of your work, and
  2. the reference list at the end (which contains the full publication details of all the sources cited in the text).

The 3rd edition of the University of Lincoln Harvard Referencing Handbook is in two parts and is only available online. If you would like to print the main information sources (books, journals, websites) there is an abridged version under the print option heading:

A picture of the front cover of the introduction to the 3rd edition of the Harvard Referencing Handbook A picture of the front cover of the 3rd edition of the Harvard Referencing Handbook: Information Sources
An Introduction which provides an overview of the Harvard style and good academic practice. It also includes details of any major changes from the 2nd edition and an example reference list at the end. A list of Information Sources to help you understand how to cite and reference nearly 150 different sources of information. Use the Table of Contents to locate the source that you would like to reference. If it is not listed you should use the reference format of a source that is similar.

If you have any questions about Harvard referencing, please contact your Academic Subject Librarian.

The 3rd edition of the Harvard Referencing Handbook is now in two guides:

  1. Introduction - this has been expanded, providing an overview of good academic practice and the Harvard style. It also includes details of any major changes from the 2nd edition as well as an example reference list at the end.
  2. Information Sources - guidance on how to reference nearly 150 different sources of information. This includes more subsections within books and journals, such as audiobooks, chapters in edited ebooks, books and ebooks which are not the first edition as well as journals with article numbers. There is also guidance on how to reference AI (should it be permitted).

 

What’s new?

  • Improved functionality:
    • It is recommended to use the search function in Adobe (or Ctrl + F) to look for specific information sources, or
    • click on the headings in the Table of Contents to be directed to the relevant section in the guide.
  • Improved accessibility:
    • PDF guides are compatible with screen readers.
    • Microsoft Word version available on request.
  • Information sources - new sections:
    • British National Formulary
    • Clinical guidelines
    • Cochrane Reviews
    • Performances
    • Plays
    • Poems
    • Statistics and datasets
  • Information sources - more examples:
    • Books
    • Conferences
    • Dissertations and thesis
    • Images, diagrams, figures, and tables
    • Journals
    • Law (UK and International)
    • Lectures and seminars
    • Reports and case studies
    • UK Parliamentary publications
    • Websites

 

Short video on Harvard referencing

Additional resources

Introduction to Harvard Referencing