Skip to Main Content
The Library

Sport and Exercise Science

Your first stop for research: a guide to resources for Sport and Exercise Science

Why Are Journals Important?

Journals" by the.Firebottle is licensed under CC BY-SA 2.0

photo of journals

Journals are regular scholarly publications which contain articles on specific subjects.

They are important in academic research for a number of reasons:

  • they are the main forum by which research is published,
  • they can explore a narrow topic in depth,
  • they contain current or recent research findings,
  • they are often peer-reviewed so that research findings are checked by other subject experts.

You can find relevant journal articles for your assignment by searching the academic databases the Library subscribes to. The advantage of using academic databases rather than Google or Google Scholar is that you can be certain that the articles you are finding are of a sufficient, academic quality and are from a reliable source. Please see the Databases section for a listing of the most useful databases for Sport & Exercise Science students.

Electronic Journals A-Z Search

The Electronic journals search allows you to search the library's collection of e-journals. This search is accessible via the Find menu on the Library website. Use this search if you want to see if we have access to a particular journal electronically by searching for the title of the journal (not the article).

Finding information for your assignment tutorial

finding information for your assignment

BrowZIne

BrowZine is another way to search the library's journal collections. If you prefer getting information in a visual format, you may want to start here.

You can create a bookshelf of your favourite journal titles and also a collection of your most useful articles. You can search by journal title or use the subject headings to browse by subject. 

Image of Browzine logo

Watch their YouTube video on how to use Browzine at: https://lncn.ac/vj9

Current Awareness

You can use current awareness services to keep up-to-date with the latest research in your subject area.

JournalTOCs has the largest free collection of scholarly journal Table of Contents (TOCs): 28,650 journals including 11,071 selected Open Access journals and 11,277 Hybrid journals from 2748 publishers.

Zetoc gives access to the table of contents of journals and conference records held by the British Library, from 1993 onwards.