Skip to Main Content
The Library

Law

A guide to using the library's resources

databases banner

Databases provide access to collections of information such as books, journals, encyclopedias, etc.  Some databases provide information in full text whilst others will only give the reference and an abstract (summary of what the article covers).  The advantage of using databases (rather than Google or Google Scholar) when researching is that you can be assured that the information you retrieve is from a reliable source.

The search box on the library website searches across a large number of databases in one search; however, there are some databases (Westlaw) that are not included in the library website.  Use the Library website to search across multiple databases

Image of the Library search box

Click here for a list of databases not available in the library website search.  

Legal databases

The University Library subscribes to the legal databases listed below.  Access the databases by clicking on the title link and, if asked, entering your username and password.  

Your username is your student email address (studentIDnumber@students.lincoln.ac.uk) and your password is your Blackboard password.

Other databases

The research databases listed below may contain journals relating to law.  

Use the search box on the library website to search across a selection of databases or access them individually by clicking on the title links and, if asked, entering your username and password.  

Your username is your student email address (studentIDnumber@students.lincoln.ac.uk) and your password is your Blackboard password.

Dissertation databases