It is possible to create a bibliography / reference list within RefWorks. This approach can be used if you add in-text citations to your document manually as you write.
It is also possible to use RefWorks Citation Manager (RCM), which is an add-on for Microsoft Word, to add citations to your Word document as you write and to create a bibliography / reference list.
If you are using a numeric referencing style it is recommended to use RefWorks Citation Manager (RCM) so that the references appear in the order that they appear in your document.
The information below refers to creating a bibliography / reference list within RefWorks:
Select the references that you would like to appear in your bibliography / reference list. If you have saved the required references into a folder in RefWorks open the folder.
Click on Create Bibliography then Create Bibliography from the drop-down menu.
Select your required referencing style from the drop-down menu. If you are using the University of Lincoln's Harvard style or the APA 7th edition style, these styles can be selected from the Institutional styles section of the drop-down list.
The bibliography / reference list will appear on the screen.
It is important to check the references generated to make sure they are correct. It is recommended that you refer to the referencing handbook for the style that you are using to make sure that all the required information is included and in the correct format.
Copy the bibliography / reference list to the clipboard by selecting Copy to Clipboard. Paste it into your required document and edit as required.
If you are using RefWorks you will need to select a citation style to use to create a bibliography or reference list. The following institutional and standardised styles follow the guidelines in our referencing handbooks.
Harvard
Select Harvard - University of Lincoln (2019) - Listed under Institutional styles
APA
Select APA 7th: University of Lincoln - Listed under Institutional styles
OSCOLA
Select OSCOLA (Oxford University Standard for Citation of Legal Authorities) (CSL)
MHRA
Select Modern Humanities Research Association 3rd edition (Note with bibliography) (CSL)
IEEE
Select IEEE (CSL)
Click on the image below to watch a short recording on creating a bibliography or reference list within RefWorks.
