Musical Theatre

Essential 3-volume reference volume for starting research projects on all aspects of musical theater, chock full of useful information. Features substantive entries under the titles of individual shows, and entries on librettists, lyricists, and composers cite all relevant works.

Gänzl provides information on the book, lyrics, and music of over 800 London musicals, including contemporary reviews, cast lists, performances, plus pertinent notes gleaned from a study of surviving scores and libretti.

Covers all stage productions with published or recorded songs by 40 composers from Jerome Kern through Jeanine Tesori. Also includes notable scores by other composers, chronological listing of productions, collaborator reference listing, and song and show title indexes.

This follow-up set to "American Song," Vols. 1 and 2 explores the work of major pop songwriters from "Tin Pan Alley" not included either in a Broadway show or film from the period 1880 to today. This carefully researched encyclopedia covers 125 composers with hundreds of entries on each. Entries include composer, lyricist and publisher information. From 1880 to present day.

Includes a chronology from 1866 to 2006, and introduction describing the evolution of the form, and a dictionary of nearly 1,000 entries arranged alphabetically by person, show title, or subject.

Assembles a comprehensive picture of the popular American musical theater as presented on first-class stages in New York City from 1850 through early 2001.

"Provides information on every musical produced on Broadway since Oklahoma in 1943. Each entry contains a brief synopsis; the pre-Broadway story; the facts of the Broadway run itself, with dates, theatres, and cast and crew; and post-Broadway information with a detailed list of later notable productions, along with important reviews and awards."

Describes almost every musical to appear on Broadway through the 2010 season.

Critical summaries of 381 "most representative" Off-Broadway musicals, from long runs to short flops.

This link searches the Lincoln catalogue for selections and complete vocal scores of musicals (minus dialog).

You can also search for a particular score by typing the musical's name and the word scores into a general keyword search in the catalogue.

Link searches the Lincoln catalogue for the published librettos (book / script / dialog) of musicals (without the music).

You can also search for any particular libretto by typing the name of musical and the word librettos into a general keyword search in the catalogue.