A number of Library subscriptions will not be renewed for this coming academic year. This includes print and electronic journals, databases and memberships.
These decisions have been made in consultation with academic colleagues, based on a thorough evaluation of usage data, use within the curriculum and potential value to research.
Our aim has been to minimise any potential impact and inconvenience, alongside carefully scrutinising the value for money of each of our subscriptions.
A list of subscriptions that will not be renewed is available below, and an indicator 
will be placed next to affected databases on the A-Z Databases page, with information about the date on which access to the resource ends.
In many instances, the same or similar content will still be provided via a different subscription or in an alternative format. These have been indicated below. Where there is no alternative, an Inter Library Loan may be possible.
If resources that you use are affected by this, and you would like help with finding alternative resources available from the library or open access, please contact your Academic Subject Librarian.
If you have further queries about the rationale of the cost saving process, please contact Liz Mallett, Assistant Director: Academic and Research Services.
Details of expiry dates for these titles will be given on the relevant entry on the A-Z Databases page.
| Database | Alternatives |
|---|---|
| ACTA Sanctorum | |
| AM Explorer |
Access continues to a number of unique collections from Adam Matthews:
Further collections discoverable through AM Explorer are no longer available. |
| Avery Index to Architectural Periodicals | Art & Architecture Source |
| Bibliography of British & Irish History | |
| Bloomsbury Architecture Library for HE | Art & Architecture Source |
| BRAD online | In-depth analysis of newspapers and magazines available via Statista and MarketLine Advantage |
| British Humanities Index (BHI) | Humanities International Index (to be upgraded to Full Text). |
| British Standards Online (BSOL) | Access to a tailored collection of standards will become available. Some international standards, ICS standards and IEEE standards can still be found through our IEEE Explore subscription: Browse IEEE Standards by Collection | IEEE Xplore |
| British Standards Online (BSOL) - The Wiring Regulation Module | Some international standards, ICS standards and IEEE standards can still be found through our IEEE Explore subscription: Browse IEEE Standards by Collection | IEEE Xplore |
| Dance in Video II (Dance Online) | Digital Theatre Plus, Music & Performing Arts Collection, International Bibliography of Theatre and Dance, BoB National |
| Design & Applied Arts (DAAI) | Art & Architecture Source |
| FAME | Companies House, Google Finance |
| FT Online |
Financial Times articles available via ProQuest One Business with a one month embargo. Similar news and analysis available via Bloomberg.com |
| International Bibliography of the Social Sciences (IBSS) | ASSIA, SocINDEX with Full Text |
| Leisure and Tourism Abstracts Database | Proquest One Business, Emerald Insight |
| MLA - International Bibliography | JSTOR, Taylor & Francis, Humanities International Index (to be upgraded to Full Text), Literature Online |
| Music Industry Data | Rock's Backpages, Lexis and Nexis for newspaper articles, Statista and MarketLine Advantage for larger record companies and streaming services. |
| New York Times 1851-2019 | Nexis Uni |
| Nkoda | IMSLP |
| Open Library of Humanities | Humanities International Index (to be upgraded to Full Text). |
| Patrologia Latina | |
| Routledge Performance Archive | Digital Theatre Plus, Music & Performing Arts Collection, BoB National |
| Subculture Archives | Museum of Youth Culture |
| WARC - World Advertising Research Center | MarketLine Advantage, Proquest One Business |
| Washington Post 1877-2003 |
| Title | Online access | Alternatives |
| 3D world (print version) | ||
| AA Files (print version) | Archived online access from JSTOR | Alternative content via Art & Architecture Source |
| Abitare (print version) | Alternative content via Art & Architecture Source | |
| Accident Reconstruction Journal (print version) | ||
| Agricultural History Review (print version) | Archived rolling online access available from JSTOR | |
| American Craft (print version) | Online access via Art & Architecture Source | |
| American Literature | Archived online access from JSTOR, Project Muse, Literature Online: LION. | |
| Anarchist Studies | Alternative content via ASSIA, SocINDEX with full text | |
| Annual Review of Ecology Evolution & Systematics | Archived rolling online access available from JSTOR, Biological Science Database | |
| Antiquite Tardive | Alternative content via JSTOR | |
| Applied and Environmental Microbiology | Online access via PubMed | |
| Architectural Record (print version) | Online access via Art & Architecture Source, Nexis Uni | |
| Architectural Review (print version) | Online access via Art & Architecture Source | |
| Architecture and Urbanism (Kenchiku to Toshi) (print version) | Alternative content via Art & Architecture Source | |
| Architectures Cree (print version) | Architectures Cree, Alternative content via Art & Architecture Source | |
| Association of Independent Museums (AIM) | Association of Independent Museums, Alternative content via Art & Architecture Source |
| Title | Online access | Alternatives |
| Baumeister | Alternative content via Art & Architecture Source | |
| Behaviour | Online access via Academic Search Complete, JSTOR | |
| British Association for Local History membership | Local History News, Alternative content via JSTOR | |
| British Wildlife (print version) | ||
| Building (print version) | Online access via Nexis Uni, ProQuest One Business | |
| Built Environment | Limited archived online access from JSTOR |
| Title | Online access | Alternatives |
| Campaign (print version) | Online access via ProQuest One Business | |
| Casabella (print version) | ||
| Ceramics: Art & Perception (print version) | Limited online archive available from Art & Architecture Source | |
| Classical Antiquity | Archived rolling online access available from JSTOR | |
| Conservation Land Management (print version) | Alternative content via Art & Architecture Source | |
| Context (print version) | Online access via Music & Performing Arts Collection | |
| Crafts Magazine (print version) | Crafts Magazine, Alternative content via Art & Architecture Source | |
| Creative Review (print version) | Limited online archive available from Art & Architecture Source, ProQuest One Business | |
| Cyberpsychology Behavior & Social Networking | Alternative journals: Cyberpsychology: Journal of Psychosocial Research on Cyberspace, Computers in Human Behavior and alternative content via titles in ACM Digital Library |
| Title | Online access | Alternatives |
| Der Spiegel (print version) | Nexis Uni | |
| Disability Rights Handbook on AskCPAG | ||
| Domus (print version) | Domus |
| Title | Online access | Alternatives |
| Economic Review (print version) | Alternative content via Economic Analysis and Policy | |
| Emotions : History Culture Society | ||
| English Literary Renaissance | Limited online archive available from JSTOR | |
| English Review (print version) | Online access via Taylor & Francis | |
| Environment & History | Limited online archive available from JSTOR | |
| Ethical Space (print version) | ||
| Ethnomusicology | Limited online archive available from JSTOR | Alternative content via Music & Performing Arts Collection |
| European Business Law Review | Alternative journal: European Business Organization Law Review | |
| European Foreign Affairs Review | ||
| European Journal of Hospital Pharmacy | Online access via PubMed | |
| European Social Work Research | Some open access content from the publisher's website | |
| Event Management | Online access via ProQuest One Business |
| Title | Online access | Alternatives |
| Families, Relationships and Societies | Some open access content from the publisher's website | |
| Film Quarterly | Online access via FIAF International Index to Film Periodicals Journals, JSTOR, Music & Performing Arts Collection, Screen Studies Collection | |
| Fine Homebuilding (print version) | ||
| Flash Art International (print version) | Online access via Art & Architecture Source | |
| Food Technology (print version) | Online access via FSTA | |
| Foundation for Community Dance (Membership - includes 'Animated') | Some open access content from the publisher's website, Alternative content via Performing Arts Periodical Database | |
| Frame (print version) | Online access via Art & Architecture Source | |
| Fresh Produce Journal (print version) | Fresh Produce Journal, Alternative content via Campden BRI, Food Science Source, FSTA, Mintel | |
| Frieze (print version) | Online access via Art & Architecture Source | |
| FX Magazine (print version) | FX Magazine |
| Title | Online access | Alternatives |
| Garten & Landschaft (print version) | Garten & Landschaft | |
| Gesta (print version) | Online access via Art & Architecture Source | |
| Grocer (print version) | Online access via Nexis, Proquest One Business |
| Title | Online access | Alternatives |
| Hat Magazine (print version) | Hat Magazine, Alternative content via Berg Fashion Library | |
| Health Club Management (Membership - inc. Health Club Management ; Leisure Opportunities; Sports Management) (print version) | Some free content via the publisher's website | |
| Historic House (print version) | ||
| History of Political Economy | Online access via Business Source Complete | |
| History of Political Thought | Limited online archive available from JSTOR | |
| Hotshoe International (print version) | Hotshoe International, Alternative content via Berg Fashion Library | |
| House of Commons Affairs; Fourth Estate Utopias (print version) |
| Title | Online access | Alternatives |
| Imagine FX (print version) | Imagine FX | |
| Inside Housing (print version | Inside Housing, Alternative content via Art & Architecture Source |
|
| Institute of Hospitality (print version) | Institute of Hospitality | |
| International Association of Arson Investigators (Membership - includes E425) | ||
| International Food and Meat Topics (print version) | Alternative content via Campden BRI, Food Science Source, FSTA, Mintel | |
| International Journal of Physical Education (Internationale Zeitschrift fur Sportpadogik) | Alternative content via SPORTDiscus |
| Title | Online access | Alternatives |
| Journal of Cognitive Psychotherapy | ||
| Journal of Consciousness Studies | ||
| Journal of English for Research Publication Purposes | ||
| Journal of Forensic Identification (print version) | ||
| Journal of Human Rights & the Environment | Archived online access from HeinOnline Law Journal Library | |
| Journal of Neuroscience | Online access via PubMed | |
| Journal of Poverty & Social Justice | Limited online archive via SocINDEX with Full Text |
| Title | Online access | Alternatives |
| Labour History Review | Online access via Academic Search Complete, Business Source Complete | |
| Landscape Architecture (print version) | Landscape Architecture, Alternative content via Art & Architecture Source | |
| Law Reports & Weekly Law Reports (print version) | Online access via Westlaw UK, Lexis+, Legislation.gov.uk | |
| Local Population Studies (print) | Alternative content via JSTOR, SocINDEX Full Text, Taylor & Francis Online | |
| Lotus International (print version) | Alternative content via Art & Architecture Source |
| Title | Online access | Alternatives |
| Management Science | Limited online archive available from Business Source Complete, JSTOR | |
| Medicine & Science in Sports & Exercise | ||
| Mercian Geologist (print version) | Mercian Geologist | |
| Mobilization | ||
| Modern History Review (print version) | Modern History Review | |
| Museum (print version) | Museum, Alternative content via Art & Architecture Source | |
| Museums Journal (print version) |
Museums Journal, Alternative content via Art & Architecture Source |
| Title | Online access | Alternatives |
| New Food (print version) | New Food, Alternative content via Campden BRI, Food Science Source, FSTA, Mintel | |
| New Scientist (print version) | Online access via Academic Search Complete, Nexis Uni, ProQuest One Business | |
| New Statesman (print version) | Online access via Academic Search Complete, Business Source Complete, ProQuest One Business |
| Title | Online access | Alternatives |
| October | Online access via Academic Search Complete, Art & Architecture Source | |
| Open House International (print version) | Alternative content via Art & Architecture Source | |
| Operations Research | Limited online archive available from Business Source Complete, JSTOR | |
| Oral History (print version) | JSTOR | |
| Oxford International Law Reports (includes International Criminal law/International Human Rights/International Investment/International Law in Domestic Courts) | International Criminal Court, International Court of Justice, European Court of Human Rights, ICSID. International cases on Westlaw International and US Supreme Court cases/decisions on Nexis Uni |
| Title | Online access | Alternatives |
| Page (print version) | ||
| Parenthesis (print version) | Parenthesis | |
| Phoenix (ceased publication) | Archived online access via JSTOR | |
| Photoworks (print version) | Limited online archive available from Art & Architecture Source | Photoworks |
| Picture Restorer (print version) | Picture Restorer | |
| Politics Review (print version) | ||
| Positions: East Asia Cultures Critique | Online access via Project Muse | |
| Private Eye (print version) | Private Eye | |
| Proceedings of the Yorkshire Geological Society | Proceedings of the Yorkshire Geological Society | |
| Project : the Magazine of the Association for Project Management (print version) | Alternative content via Emerald Insight, Sage | |
| Quaderns d'arquitectura I'urbanisme (print version) | Quaderns, Alternative content via Art & Architecture Source |
| Title | Online access | Alternatives |
| Radical History Review | Online access via Academic Search Complete | |
| Raw Vision (print version) | Raw Vision | |
| Rendez-vous (print version) | Alternative French Language content available freely online | |
| Research in Practice | Alternative content via Community Care Inform - Adults, Community Care Inform - Children | |
| Resurgence & Ecologist (print version) |
| Title | Online access | Alternatives |
| Scottish Society for the History of Photography (Membership) |
Study in Photography, Alternative content via Art & Architecture Source |
|
| Screen International (print version) | Online access via FIAF, Music & Performing Arts Collection, Performing Arts Periodicals Database, Screen Studies Collection | |
| SF Camerawork (Center for Photography & Related Media) | BECTU, Alternative content via Art & Architecture Source | |
| Social Cognition | ||
| Society and Animals | Online access via Academic Search Complete | |
| Soundings: A Journal of Politics and Culture | Online access via Academic Search Complete, Project Muse | |
| Source Photographic Review (print version) | Source Photographic Review, Alternative content via Art & Architecture Source | |
| Southern History (print version) | Alternative content via Taylor & Francis, JSTOR | |
| Sports Management (print version) | Online access via Business Source Complete | |
| Stage Screen and Radio (print version) | Stage Screen and Radio | |
| Stahl Online | ||
| State Crime Journal | DOAJ, Archived online access via HeinOnline Law Journal Library, JSTOR |
| Title | Online access | Alternatives |
| Time (print version) | Online access via Academic Search Complete, Business Source Complete | |
| Topos (print version) | Online access via DOAJ | |
| Turps Banana (print version) | Alternative content via Art & Architecture Source |
| Title | Online access | Alternatives |
| Volume (print version) | Alternative content via Art & Architecture Source |
| Title | Online access | Alternatives |
| Walpole Society membership (print version) | Limited online archive to The Volume of the Walpole Society available via JSTOR | Alternative content via Art & Architecture Source |
| William Morris Society (includes the Journal of the William Morris Society ; William Morris Society in the US newsletter ; William Morris Society magazine) (print version) | Alternative content via Art & Architecture Source | |
| Winterthur Portfolio | Online access via Art & Architecture Source | Winterthur Portfolio |
| World of Interiors (print version) | Alternative content via Art & Architecture Source | |
| World Today (print version) | Limited online archive available via JSTOR | World Today |
| Zoo Grapevine and International Zoo News (print version) |
