Books and journal articles are great resources for creative practice and assignment research - but sometimes you might need something a bit different.
Important note: some of the content in our Library Databases can be found through searching the Library website, but it is important to note that it doesn't include everything (see all Databases not indexed in Library search) - particularly multimedia and audiovisual content, and industry news - for this content, you need to go straight to our Databases:-
Our Library Databases include all sorts of content to cover and support all subjects within the Creative Arts:-
An open resource containing reports, maps and statistics on Arts Council England funding with data showing impact by region on culture, economy and neighbourhood development and regeneration.
ArtsProfessional creates and curates the most relevant content for those with a professional interest in the arts sector.
Shared off-air recording and media archive service. Programmes can only be viewed in the UK.
You will need to register with the site before you can access the content.
High quality films of leading theatre productions and detailed analysis of play texts.
If you are experiencing any issues playing videos on Digital Theatre Plus using Chrome, please make sure you have the most recent version of the Chrome browser downloaded. Find more information about the browser update.
Drama Online has a growing collection of drama texts, audio plays and a video collection that provides an essential study tool.
Find the most current, authoritative coverage of music research with Oxford Handbooks: spanning music theory and sound studies, history, politics and ethnomusicality, including studies on a variety of music genres, musical theatre, even dance and theatre.
Access to the entire text of the Grove Dictionary of Art and the Benezit Dictionary of Artists with regular additions of new material and updates to the text, plus extensive image links.
Statista consolidates statistical data on over 80,000 topics from more than 22,500 sources for insights and facts across 170 industries and 150+ countries.
Access to company, industry, financial, product, country information, research and data extending across every major marketplace and industry; additional content now also includes Influencers Database, Industry Profiles Archive, Case Study Archive, Theme reports and Country Risk Reports.
The Arts Professional database now requires a username and password to access so you need to register for an account.
The first time you access, you need to:-
Select "Subscribe here"
Select "here" where it says - Studying or working at a University that subscribes to AP? Find out how to access here
Select "University of Lincoln"
Fill in registration form using university email address
You should then receive an email welcoming you to Arts Professional and can access content.
The easiest way to explore our Library Databases is to use the filters at the top of the page. You can filter by:-
A Whistle Stop Tour of Digital Theatre+ for Students [1:33 mins] - This video provides a whistle stop tour of the key features of Digital Theatre+ and how to navigate the platform.
Exploring Theatre Practice on Digital Theatre+ [2:58 mins] - This video shows how to navigate the platform to locate resources on acting, contemporary performance, physical theatre and theatre practice.
Technical Theatre and Design on Digital Theatre+ [2:21 mins] - This video explains how to navigate the site to find resources for technical theatre, with a focus on lighting, costume and set design.
Enriching English Studies on Digital Theatre+ [3:15 mins] - This video shows you how Digital Theatre+ can enrich English and Creative Writing studies, particularly in relation to Shakespeare studies, modern drama, and poetry.
