British Youth Music Theatre (formerly Youth Music Theatre UK) is a national performing arts education charity that specialises in creating brand new music theatre. We work across the UK and Ireland with leading industry professionals to offer unique opportunities and high-quality training to young singers, actors, dancers and musicians as well as emerging artists and stage technicians.
The Broadway League's 700-plus members include theatre owners and operators, producers, presenters, and general managers in North American cities, as well as suppliers of goods and services to the commercial theatre industry.
Goodspeed Musicals is a North American arts nonprofit with the ambition of bringing to life rarely produced musicals as well as mounting new productions.
Music Theatre International (MTI) is one of the world's leading theatrical licensing agencies, granting theatres from around the world the rights to perform the greatest selection of musicals from Broadway and beyond.
The Musical Theatre Network – a membership organisation with a mission to bring people and resources together to improve infrastructure and opportunities for new musical theatre in the UK. Our membership is a national network of venues, producers, colleges, directors, organisations and individuals involved in developing or staging new musicals.
The National Alliance for Musical Theatre, founded in 1985, is a not-for-profit organization serving the musical theatre community. Our 170 organizational members and 80 individual members, located throughout 34 states and abroad, are some of the leading producers of musical theatre in the world, and include theatres, presenting organizations, higher education programs and individual producers.
The National Youth Music Theatre offers exceptional opportunities in pre-professional, musical theatre training for talented young people of all backgrounds aged 10 to 23 years through skills workshops, master classes and residential courses led by industry professionals, through commissioning and presentation of exciting new work and - in collaboration with some of the UK’s leading creative minds - producing bold, new realisations of major works of the core repertoire.
The Royal Albert Hall Archives exists to capture, preserve and make accessible the Hall’s history of performance, the iconic Grade 1 listed building and the organisation itself.
In 2012, the American public broadcaster PBS aired a six-part series on the history of the American musical. The website contains lots of useful peeks into the history of American show-business.
Musicals 101 is a cyber encyclopedia of musical theatre, film, and television maintained by a Broadway professional and entertainment historian named John Kenrick.
Musical Theatre Databases
These are musical theatre encyclopedias, records of productions, and other resources freely available online. For resources available via your library, don't forget to check out the databases and performance on video sections in this guide.
From early ballad operas to today's West End blockbusters via burlesque, musical comedy and rock operas, explore an A to Z of musical theatre through the Victorian and Albert Museum's collection of costumes, designs, posters, photography, orchestral scores, song books, programmes and much more.
This guide has been designed for those who enjoy musicals, especially for those who participate in productions of Broadway, West End and shows written with the amateur in mind.
IBDB (Internet Broadway Database) archive is the official database for Broadway theatre information. IBDB provides records of productions from the beginnings of New York theatre until today.
Talkin Broadway is in its 24th successful year providing readers worldwide with up to the minute news, interactive discussion, and information about Broadway, Off-Broadway and the current theatre scene in Los Angeles, Boston, Chicago and other regional areas across the United States.
