Lincoln School of Creative Arts

The Contemporary Music Score Collection is published by the UCLA Music Library. The collection includes the digital, open access scores from the Contemporary Score Edition series, the first open access edition of new music published by a library.

A free collection of music scores, parts, and recordings in the public domain.

Browse the largest online collections and catalogue of historical musical instruments in the UK.

Growing collection of public domain scores from the collections of the Sibley Music Library, Eastman School of Music, University of Rochester.

Authoritative, up-to-date source for worldwide links to non-commercial Web sites offering digitized scores and sheet music, maintained by the Loeb Music Library, Harvard University.

The RISM is an international organisation which records and documents written musical sources--what exists and where it can be found.

Score Exchange is the largest online retailer of new sheet music from composers and arrangers all over the world.

A collection of historic programmes and documentaries on music and musics from the BBC.

This enormously useful database describes music collections held in museums, libraries, and archives in the UK and Ireland.

This online exhibition allows you to explore key works of 20th century Western Classical music and the context in which they were written.

Explore recordings, sheet music, instruments and musical styles, as well as composers and performers from Europe's digital cultural archive.

A wide collection of English folk music, dance, and customs.

A rich collection of music, resources for the study of music, and musical instruments.

Browse the largest online collections and catalogue of historical musical instruments in the UK.

Stanford Libraries is the steward of a wealth of rare music materials, with holdings spanning nearly a thousand years and representing a diversity of formats, from medieval books and fragments to score manuscripts, correspondence, first and early editions, documents, engravings, and photographs.

The Royal Albert Hall Archives exists to capture, preserve and make accessible the Hall’s history of performance, the iconic Grade 1 listed building and the organisation itself.

A collection of free music resources from the Royal College of Music, including sheet music, the RCM Magazine, and Society of Women Musics Collection.

Music played an important role in World War One. In a time when there was no radio or television, and recordings were still a rare phenomenon, music was mostly experienced live. For the armed forces, it wasn’t just something to march to, it influenced morale. It was also during the war that the use of music as propaganda became more important. This online exhibition explores music before, during, and after the war.

A collection of digitised material relating to research and documentation of folk music, dance, and customs.

This library will be an ever expanding resource of works by Black thinkers, artists, activists, and visionaries from around the world.

This Library holds a collection of open-access articles and books, websites, and YouTube videos on Indigenous and anti-colonial research methodologies. If you are looking for practical examples from different parts of the world and want to know more about these research methodologies, start here!

A series of blogposts exploring and discussing diverse composers and musics by the Librarians at the Royal Conservatoire of Scotland's Whittaker Library.

An excellent resource for over two thousand works by women composers at the Royal Conservatoire of Scotland.

Large streaming audio collection of songs and vocal music from the United States, covering a diverse range of Americans, both past and present. Addresses a variety of topics and cultures, and covers a wide range of styles and genres, particularly from popular, folk, and ethnic music. Now includes African American Song. Updated regularly.

A community music remixing site featuring remixes and samples licensed under Creative Commons licenses.

"Contains the sounds of all regions from every continent" by including a blend of contemporary and traditional world music recordings from many labels, with focus on genres such as fusion and world beat. Complements Smithson Global Sound.

Listing of organisations and projects powered by Creative Commons licenses.

An interactive library of high-quality, legal audio downloads.

A huge database of free sound samples.

Large collection of streamed jazz recordings, covering major and secondary artists, ensembles, labels, and genres, ranging from historical recordings to musics performing and recording today. Updated regularly.

A collaboration between the Internet Archive and etree.org, this archive preserves as many live concerts as possible. All music in this Collection is from trade-friendly artists and is strictly non-commercial, both for access here and for any further distribution.

Daily music news, weekly charts with music samples, this day in music, new releases, and more. Also has Review Finder, with tens of thousands of original album reviews from 1970. Also has many audio clips.

Commercial site, but a good source for the lyrics of popular songs.