The University holds a small art collection consisting of two distinct parts: an historic print collection and a live collection of art created by students and staff.
The Print Collection was used as a teaching aid for Hull College of Arts & Crafts and its historic predecessors, which eventually joined the Lincoln School of Art and Design in 2001. Some prints are reproductions of oil paintings or watercolours whilst others are original prints, examples of printing techniques for educational purposes, such as relief (woodcut, wood engraving and lino cut), intaglio (engraving, etching, dry point, mezzotint, aquatint, sugar lift), lithography and screen printing.
Image: The Cop Stone by Susan E. Jameson (Ref: PC2/09/080)
The Art Collection was inherited from De Montfort University, Lincoln and contains over 200 items, including paintings and works on paper plus several examples of ceramics (Mick Casson), jewellery, furniture, sculpture, textiles, installations and photographic prints. Much is recent 21st century work, with a handful of works from the 1970s, 1980s, and 1990s. Due to the limited storage space additions are restricted but art may be borrowed by staff and installed in safe environments on campus following environmental checks.
The oldest item is a Roman pot and a selection of student work is being added, usually following the summer exhibitions.
Image: Golden Bend by Judith Greef (Ref: UL/AC/18/015)
Copyright remains with the artist or publisher therefore the inventory is not available online but can be consulted in the University Library. Please contact the Special Collections Librarian for further details on access to the collection.
(Ref: UL/AC/09/302)
(Ref: UL/AC/366)
(Ref: UL/AC/11/130)
(Ref: UL/AC/17/010)
(Ref: UL/AC/14/001)
(Ref: UL/AC/18/008)
(Ref: UL/AC/18/015)
(Ref: UL/AC/19/12)
Prints are being used by the MA Conservation students for collection survey techniques, assigning condition grades etc. Some of the print collection is in poor condition, printed on acidic paper with tears and water damage from being stored in previous unsuitable conditions.
Image: Conservation students Amy Randall & Alex Habgood wrapping art for transportation in 2018
The collection includes examples of the ‘School Prints’ series, which attempted to introduce quality contemporary art to children in the 1940s. Also examples of the ‘Lyons Teashop Lithographs’ such as John Nash’s Landscape with Bathers. Lyons Teashops were evident on almost every British High Street, forerunners of contemporary Costa Coffee and this art was part of the post-war refurbishment in 1947. London transport posters feature in the collection and work by artists such as David Hockney and Gertrude Hermes.
