Find out more about our most important collections.
Lincoln hosts the largest Steampunk festival in Europe and images and texts are being added to an archive to enable future research into this unique phenomenon. Images have been taken from several Steampunk events on campus.
Image: Strongman, J. (2011) Steampunk: the art of Victorian futurism. London: Korero. (Ref: D/3/20)
The Lincolnshire Poetry collection is a reference only resource available to university staff, students and the general public housed in the University Library. Anthologies, individual poems and a programme of recordings are being added to the collection.
Image: Waterman, R. (ed.) (2015) Something happens, sometimes here: contemporary Lincolnshire poetry. Nottingham: Five Leaves. (Ref: GARDINER/1/18)
Senior Lecturer in Illustration and Design, Darren Diss's collection of editorial illustrations from The Independent 2009-2013 shows the cultural impact of the relationship between word and image in news media for comment and opinion writing.
Image: Diss, D. (2011) I’ve given up books and I’m closer to my library than ever. The Independent, 1 Oct, 35. (Ref: DISS/234)
A collection of almost 10,000 Lincolnshire postcards, which had been collected over many years by David Robinson OBE, Lincolnshire historian and editor of the Lincolnshire Life magazine.
Image: Selection of postcards from the David Robinson Postcard Collection
The University holds a small art collection consisting of two distinct parts: an historic print collection from Hull College and the original Lincoln School of Art & Design, and a live collection of art created by students and staff.
Image: Deep Blue by Ella Mcneilage (Ref: UL/AC/19/008)
A collection of Royal Opera House programmes dating from 1988-2009 was collected by Flavia Ormond and donated to Special Collections in 2016 via the School of Fine and Performing Arts (now the Lincoln School of Creative Arts).
Image: The Royal Opera House
The small collection of children’s literature ranges from 1834 to the 1970s, including alphabets, picture books and non-fiction. Includes a selection of issues from The Girls Own Paper and The Eagle.
Image: Selection of Children's Literature books in the Zibby Garnett Library
A small collection of pre-1801 material including The Historie of the Holy Warre by Thomas Fuller (1651) and A Complete History of England, from the descent of Julius Caesar, to the Treaty of Aix la Chapelle by T. Smollett, M.D. (1748).
Image: Walton, I. (1653) The compleat angler or the contemplative man's recreation. London: T. Maxey
The collection includes the quarterly literary magazine The Yellow Book 1894-1897, the photo-journalistic magazine Picture Post, some issues of Punch, Studies in Church History and other historic arts journals.
Image: Selection of Punch journals in the Zibby Garnett Library
A collection of artefacts from the Murray Hill Institute for Blind Children in Beijing from 1921-1938, collected and brought back to the UK by Lincolnshire-born missionary, Walter Canner, whose aim was to foster self-sufficiency in children.
Image: Walter Canner (Ref: WALTER CANNER/1/1/2)
Over 900 books from Lincoln Cathedral’s John Wilson Library, formerly located in Donington rectory, which is an example of a Parish Library containing mostly 18th and 19th Century material, now held at Lincoln Cathedral Library.
Image: Scott, James. (1831) The village doctor; or, family medical adviser. London: Sherwood, Gilbert & Piper (Ref: WB.07.08)
Explore 'Distant Music: Uncovering the Music Collections of Lincoln Cathedral Library' by Megan Lomas & Valerie Arindra undertaken as part of Undergraduate Research Opportunities Scheme (UROS).
Image: Sheet music for 'Hear my Crying O God'
