From 1990 to 2014 the current Special Collections Librarian held the post of Foster Librarian at Lincolnshire Archives, looking after the printed material in their collection. This connection has enabled documents to be displayed in the University Library for the George Boole exhibition and images for displays on Research Sources in Lincoln, Isaac Newton and the Reformation, among others.
The wealth of primary material available for staff and students is a tremendous resource and advice from archivists and former colleagues is invaluable for both collections.
Image: Cultural Services Adviser, Helen Hill, inside the stacks at Lincolnshire Archives
Lincolnshire Archives provide access to resources that can be used to research history and culture in Lincolnshire. The collections date from 11th century onwards and cover the historical county, which stretched from the Humber to the Wash. Resources include Lincolnshire business records, hospital & school records, local authority records, solicitors records, estate & family papers, wills, inventories, church records of the Diocese of Lincoln, private deposits, maps & plans.
Their collections are of national and international significance, particularly the Dean & Chapter Archive, which charts the history of the governance of Lincoln Cathedral - from the earliest document in 1072, a writ from William the Conqueror instructing the sheriffs within the Bishopric to build a Cathedral in Lincoln.
Image: Claribel (Charlotte Alington Barnard, nee Pye) postcard (Ref: CLARIBEL/5/3/3)
Lincolnshire Archives has launched the first phase of a new website - Lincolnshire Archives online catalogue - in which visitors can search thousands of records documenting over 900 years of Lincolnshire’s history.
The website launch represents the first stage of a largescale digital development project to replace the outdated Lincs to the Past website which will be decommissioned in 2022. The new website features an improved format and searchability for viewing archive records.
Behind the scenes the Archives team are continuing to work with the website provider on the second stage of the website’s development. This will see thousands of digitised images of original records be reintroduced onto the site. It is anticipated this stage will follow in early 2022.
Any access issues, please contact Lincolnshire Archives.
Image: The Bussy Psalter (Ref: 2/CRAGG/4/2)
To learn more about Lincolnshire Archives and how to access the collections, see the website.
Browse the Lincolnshire Archives online catalogue.
Address: St Rumbold Street, Lincoln, LN2 5AB
Telephone: 01522 782040
Email: lincolnshire.archives@lincolnshire.gov.uk
Get directions
facebook.com/lincolnshirearchives
twitter.com/LincsArchives
Lincolnshire holds the most significant collection on Alfred Tennyson in the world. Various Tennyson exhibitions, collections and events are held in the Tennyson Research Centre at Lincolnshire Archives.
