Image: A selection of Children's Literature books in the Zibby Garnett Library
Image: Diss, D. (2011) I’ve given up books and I’m closer to my library than ever. The Independent, 1 Oct, 35. (Ref: DISS/234)
Image: Walton, I. (1653) The compleat angler or the contemplative man's recreation. London: T. Maxey
Image: Front cover of The Yellow Book: An Illustrated Quarterly, vol. VI, Jul 1895 (Ref: J/4/30)
Image: Waterman, R. (ed.) (2015) Something happens, sometimes here: contemporary Lincolnshire poetry. Nottingham: Five Leaves. (Ref: GARDINER/1/18)
Image: Strongman, J. (2011) Steampunk: the art of Victorian futurism. London: Korero. (Ref: D/3/20)
Image: Deep Blue by Ella Mcneilage (Ref: UL/AC/19/008)
Image: Scott, James. (1831) The village doctor; or, family medical adviser. London: Sherwood, Gilbert & Piper (Ref: WB.07.08)
Image: Sheet music for Hear my Crying O God by George Holmes
Welcome to Special Collections at the University of Lincoln Library. Special Collections includes a small collection of printed material in the Zibby Garnett Library on the first floor of the University Library and access to Lincoln Cathedral’s Library via a secondment of the Special Collections Librarian.
Lincoln Cathedral Library holds medieval manuscripts, early printed books, archival material and modern reference books.
Image: Left, 15th Century Medieval Library. Right, Yosy's Switzerland (1815) (Ref: WL.02.21 - 22)
Image: Left, 17th Century Wren Library. Right, Bede Comm. in Cantica Canticorum, 12th century (Ref: MS 165 f.6v part)
The collections date from 11th century onwards and cover the historical county of Lincolnshire, which stretched from the Humber to the Wash.
Image: Helpringham Enclosure Award and Plan (Ref: HELPRINGHAM PAR CO/5/1)
Image: Photograph of Lord Alfred Tennyson (Ref: TRC/Images/5371)
There is close collaboration between Special Collections and the staff and students within Conservation in the School of History and Humanities.
Image: 'Microscopic examination of a paint sample' taken from Lincoln Conservation website
Image: 'Materials Analysis' taken from Lincoln Conservation website
Special Collections logo designed by Toni Watts, with thanks.
Toni Watts' Website
Toni Watts' Instagram
Find out more about Toni's work - A Medieval Scribe in the Modern Day: the Illuminations of Toni Watts
There are always projects requiring help so please contact the Special Collections Librarian for the latest volunteering opportunities on offer.
Please visit the display area on the ground floor of GCW Library to see material from Special Collections, work by students and staff and wider university projects.
