The term ‘Early printed books’ in Europe covers the period from the 15th century, when the invention of the hand-press in Germany took over from hand-written documents, to 1801. The earliest (pre-1501) books are termed incunables or incunabula but our earliest was printed in 1542.
Some of these are books were acquired via Hull educational institutions, which eventually became the University of Lincoln and have passed through many pairs of hands. Very few are in ‘good’ condition, most have detached spines and boards, dilapidated bindings and are held together with archival tape. These volumes require a book cushion to support the binding and very careful handling. A number were part of Riseholme Agricultural College Library and the rest of the collection is still at Riseholme but can be viewed with notice.
The small collection of pre-1801 material includes texts such as:
The historie of the holy warre by Thomas Fuller, B.D. prebendarie of Sarum, late of Sidney Colledge in Cambridge. The fourth edition. 1651
A complete history of England, from the descent of Julius Caesar, to the Treaty of Aix la Chapelle, 1748 containing the transactions of one thousand eight hundred and three years by T. Smollett, M.D. The second edition. 1758
You can access this collection by searching on the Special Collections catalogue. Please contact the Special Collections Librarian for more information and to discuss your research requirements.
Image: Walton, I. (1653) The compleat angler or the contemplative man's recreation. London: printed by T. Maxey.
Old book held together with archival tape resting on a book cushion for support.
Dictionarium rusticum, urbanicum & botanicum: or, a dictionary of husbandry, gardening, trade, commerce, and all sorts of country-affairs. (1726) London: James & John Knapton.
Title page of Dictionarium rusticum, urbanicum & botanicum showing correct way to open and read old and delicate material by using a book cushion to rest it on for support.
Dictionarium rusticum, urbanicum & botanicum: or, a dictionary of husbandry, gardening, trade, commerce, and all sorts of country-affairs. (1726) London: James & John Knapton.
Fuller, T. (1651) The historie of the holy warre. 4th ed. [Cambridge]: printed by Thomas Buck.
Fuller, T. (1651) The historie of the holy warre. 4th ed. [Cambridge]: printed by Thomas Buck.
Creech, T. (1683) Titus Lucretius Carus his six books of epicurean philosophy, done into English verse, with notes. London: Thomas Sawbridge.
Walker, J. (editor) (1684) The history of the Eucharist. Divided into three parts. The first, treating of the form of celebration, the second, of the doctrine, the third, of worship in the sacrament. Written originally in French, by Monsieur L'Arroque, minister of the Protestant Church at Quevilly, near Roan; with the new additions. Done in English by J. W. London: printed for George Downes.
