Special Collections

About the Collection

Lincoln hosts the largest Steampunk festival in Europe and images and texts are being added to an archive to enable future research into this unique phenomenon. Images have been taken from several Steampunk events on campus, with the assistance of the School of Film and Media.

 What is Steampunk?

If you have read any Jules Verne (1828-1905) or H.G. Wells (1866-1946) you have started on the Steampunk journey. Throw in the Victorian age of steam powered invention and you are well on your way but don’t forget the punk element. K. W. Jeter first used the term in 1987 to describe a literary genre. Also, you may have seen the film ‘Wild Wild West’, which portrays American ‘Wild West’ Steampunk.

Creative brilliance and the Steampunk ethos ‘Be Splendid’ with inclusive diversity allow all manner of costumes and gadgets to be made, adapted and displayed to the world. Items such as flying/driving goggles, clocks, cogs, parasols, kraken and all kinds of paraphernalia adorn Steampunks with customary corsets, top hats, military adaptations and futuristic costumes. Recycling is key and the imagination has no bounds. The only rule is ‘There are no rules!’ Tea and gin make their appearance and you can be part of the fun and frivolity.

Accessing the Collection

You can access the digital archive of Steampunk photographs on the Special Collections catalogue. Please contact the Special Collections Librarian for more information and to discuss your research requirements.

If you have any Steampunk photos, which can be added to the Steampunk archive with the permission of the Steampunks being photographed, please contact the Special Collections Librarian.