Skip to Main Content
The Library

APA 7th Edition - University of Lincoln

APA Website guidance

Print encylopedia with individual author

Notes 

When an online reference work is continuously updated, use “n.d.” as the year of publication and include a retrieval date. 

 

Parenthetical citation (quotation)

(Keener & Pelfrey, 2017, p. 417) 

 

Reference List 

Keener, S., & Pelfrey, W. V. (2017). Cyberbullying. In E. K. Nadal (Ed.), The SAGE encyclopedia of psychology and gender (Vol. 1, pp.

     417-418). Sage. http://dx.doi.org/10.4135/9781483384269 

 

Format

Author Surname [of Entry], Initial(s). (Year). Article title. In Editor(s) Initial(s). Surname(s) (Ed.(s.), Reference book title: Subtitle (ed.

     (edition), Vol. (volume), pp. (page numbers). Publisher. DOI (if there is one) 

Entry in online dictionary/encyclopedia (with group authors - continuously updated)

Parenthetical citation

(Dictionary.com, n.d.) 

Narrative citation

Dictionary.com (n.d.)

 

Reference List

Dictionary.com. (n.d.). Resilience. In Dictionary.com. Retrieved September 6, 2021, from

     https://www.dictionary.com/browse/resilience

 

Format

Group author. (n.d.). Title of entry. In title of dictionary/encylopedia. Retrieved month date, year, from URL 

Entire dictionary (online with continuous updates)

Parenthetical citation

(American Psychological Association, n.d.)

Narrative citation   

American Psychological Association (n.d.) 

 

Reference list  

American Psychological Association. (n.d.). APA dictionary of psychology. Retrieved July 22, 2020, from https://dictionary.apa.org/ 

 

Format

Group/corporate author. (n.d.). Title. Retrieved month date, year from URL